Navy Football Great Moeller Gets HOF Nod

Navy football great Chet Moeller was one of 14 people to be named as inductees in the College Football Hall of Fame yesterday. Moeller is the 22nd Navy player or coach to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and the first since former head coach George Welsh was inducted in 2004.

Moeller, who played safety for the Midshipmen from 1973-1975, was a first-team All-American selection and the East Coast Athletic Conference (ECAC) Player of the Year in 1975. He was selected from a national ballot that included a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees.


Moeller will be formally inducted at The National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on December 7, 2010 at the landmark Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.


A defensive star at Navy, Moeller made 275 tackles in his career including a school record 25 tackles for a loss as a junior. Equally as impressive, in Moeller's three years playing at Navy, the Mids beat Army all three times by a combined score of 100-6; won two out of three contests against Air Force; and won the Commander-in-Chief's Trophy twice outright (1973 and 1975), and retained it in 1974.


Upon graduation, Moeller served as an officer in the United States Marine Corps.


More than 12,000 members and current Hall of Famers received ballots. One of the requirements to make the ballot is that a player must have been a First-Team All American.


Joining Moeller as inductees this December will be Desmond Howard, Barry Alvarez, Gene Stallings, Pat Tillman, Dennis Byrd, Ronnie Caveness, Ray Childress, Randy Cross, Sam Cunningham, Mark Herrmann, Clarkston Hines, Jerry Stovall, and Alfred Williams.


Navy coaching great Wayne Hardin, who led the Mids from 1959-64, was also on the national ballot, but he failed to garner enough votes for induction.


Other noteworthy individuals who were on the ballot but failed to garner enough votes includedLawrence Taylor, Deion Sanders, Eric Dickerson, and Brian Bosworth. Top Stories