Miller or Martinez?

BTN's quarterback unit rankings are out. Where does the combination of Martinez, Armstrong, and Kellogg stack up against the rest of the Big Ten?

Last year Ohio State junior quarterback Braxton Miller was the Big Ten coaches Quarterback of the Year winner – he didn't make first-team all-conference honors, that went to Nebraska's Taylor Martinez.

Somehow it was close for Braxton to win one vote and Martinez to win the other.

Both return in 2013 and both are expected once again to contend for the same honors.

Earlier today, Tom Dienhart, Big Ten Network writer and friend to Big Red Report released his quarterback unit rankings for the 2013 season. Not only does this take into account the starting quarterback, but the personel behind him.


Miller and Ohio State took home the top honors on his list, with Martinez and Tommy Armstrong/Ron Kellogg taking the second spot.

Here is what Dienhart had to say about Nebraska:

2. Nebraska. Taylor Martinez has continued to improve each season. As a junior in 2012, he led the Big Ten in passing efficiency. And his 23 touchdown passes ranked second in the conference; but his 12 interceptions led the league. Martinez remains a great running threat, gaining 1,019 yards rushing last season. Redshirt freshman Tommy Armstrong looks like the signal-caller of the future. Senior Ron Kellogg also is capable.

Discuss this topic on our premium message board: CLICK HERE. To become a subscriber to the BigRedReport web site or magazine, CLICK HERE.

Josh Harvey has covered college football and recruiting for Fox Sports & since 2008. He is now the Publisher of Big Red Report, covering Nebraska athletics.
Facebook | Twitter| E-Mail |

Big Red Report Top Stories