Nebraska names four captains in 2013

For the first-time in the Bo Pelini era, Nebraska will have four regular season captains.

LINCOLN, Neb. - Nebraska has never in the Bo Pelini era had the same four team captains from game-to-game. That will change in 2013.

Husker football radio analyst Matt Davison tweeted on Friday afternoon Nebraska would stick with four players this year as team captains: senior quarterback Taylor, senior offensive lineman Spencer Long, senior wide receiver Quincy Enunwa, and senior cornerback Ciante Evans.

While leadership can't always be judged on past accomplishments and stats, the four seniors seem like logical choices.

Taylor Martinez - First-team All-Big Ten in 2012 by the coaches, Nebraska's all-time career total yardage leader, four-year starter, 2013 Heisman Trophy candidate.

Spencer Long - Associated Press second-team All-American in 2012, has started 27 games over his career.

Quincy Enunwa - 21 starts over his career, the best senior at a loaded wide receiver position.

Ciante Evans - First-team All-Big Ten in 2012 by various media outlets, 20 starts in his career, possibly the best returning defensive back in the country.

Discuss this topic on our premium message board: CLICK HERE. To become a subscriber to the BigRedReport web site or magazine, CLICK HERE.

Josh Harvey has covered college football and recruiting for Fox Sports & since 2008. He is now the Publisher of Big Red Report, covering Nebraska athletics.
Facebook | Twitter| E-Mail |

Big Red Report Top Stories