Gregory/Abdullah named to Walter Camp watch

Nebraska defensive end Randy Gregory and running back Ameer Abdullah have beeb named to the Walter Camp watch list.

LINCOLN, Neb. - After being named to the Doak Walker list on Thursday, the watch list honors keep coming for Nebraska senior running back Ameer Abdullah.

On Friday, Abdullah was named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list. The award is the fourth-oldest in college football.

In three seasons, Abdullah has 2,977 rushing yards - good for No. 8 all-time on the Nebraska career rushing list. While it's unlikely he will pass former Heisman trophy winner Mike Rozier on the top career-rushing chart, barring injury Abdullah should graduate next year No. 2 all-time. He would pass players like Ahman Green, Roy Helu Jr., Eric Crouch, and Rex Burkhead in the process.

Joining Abdullah on the list was Nebraska junior defensive end Randy Gregory, who has also appeared on the Lombardi, Chuck Bednarik, Bronko Nagurski, and Lott watch list.

Gregory had 66 tackles, 10.5 sacks, and 19 tackles for loss last season, earning first-team All-Big Ten honors in the process.

Nebraska has had three players win the Walter Camp over the history of the award: Johnny Rodgers (1972), Mike Rozier (1983), and Eric Crouch (2001).

For a complete list of the players on the Walter Camp Award watch list:

Big Red Report Top Stories