Josh Harvey /

Riley talks Nebraska 2015 team captains

Nebraska head coach Mike Riley talks about the need for team captains during the summer.

CHICAGO, Ill - After never knowing how the process would be handled with the previous staff, Nebraska announced six team captains in early June. 

On Friday, Nebraska head coach Mike Riley was asked about the decision to hold a team vote for captains when he did. 

The group includes three players each on offense and defense, and consists of two seniors and four juniors. The players come to the Nebraska program from six different states.

Offensively, senior offensive tackle Alex Lewis, junior quarterback Tommy Armstrong. and junior wide receiver Jordan Westerkamp were named captains. Senior defensive end Jack Gangwish, junior defensive tackle Maliek Collins and junior safety Nate Gerry will represent the 2015 Blackshirts as captains.

“It is quite an honor to be elected by your teammates as a captain, particularly in a program with the history and tradition of Nebraska,” Riley said. “This group will be outstanding representatives for our football team, beginning with leadership in the summer workouts.”

Big Red Report Top Stories