60-second alert: Huskers award scholarships

Nebraska announced on Saturday they awarded five walk-ons with scholarships.

LINCOLN, Neb. - Nebraska head coach Mike Riley announced on Saturday he has awarded five walk-on players with scholarships for the 2015 season. 

Receiving a scholarship was tight end Trey Foster, quarterback Ryker Fyfe, wide receiver Lane Hovey, defensive end Ross Dzuris, and offensive lineman Dylan Utter.  When it comes to Fyfe, the scholarship is being renewed from last year. 

One player not so lucky, former walk-on turned scholarship player Sam Burtch. The senior was banged up in the spring and now is again this fall. Riley said he would have loved to get him a scholarship, but it came down to production. 

“Production, both spring and fall," said Riley when asked about the determining factors. "Trey Foster is a great example of a guy who did okay in the spring and really surfaced in Fall Camp. I was proud of the work he did.”

Big Red Report's scholarship chart has been updated: CLICK HERE

Big Red Report Top Stories