Huskers Earn academic All-Big 12 honors

The Big XII announced that six members of the Nebraska men's basketball team were named first-team-Academic All-Big 12 for the 2004 season. The Huskers dominated the first-team, the next closest school having 2.

Six members of the Nebraska men's basketball team were named to the 2004 academic All-Big 12 first team, the conference office announced recently. The six Huskers -- seniors Adam Bohac and Brian Conklin, juniors Jake Muhleisen and John Turek and sophomores Jason Dourisseau and Tony Wilbrand -- represent 35 percent of the 17-member first team. Three other schools had two first-team recipients this year while five schools had a single member.

With the six honors, Nebraska has now had 39 first-team academic all-conference accolades since 1966, when Grant Simmons won NU's first award. Nine of the first-team awards have come under Coach Barry Collier.

 Conklin and Turek each picked up their second honor, as Conklin was a first-team member in 2002 while Turek was named to the squad last season. Wilbrand earned first-team accolades this year after being a member of the second team in 2003. Before this season, only eight Huskers had been named to the team more than once, while only four Huskers -- Jack Moore (1981-84), John Matzke (1984-86), Bruce Chubick (1992-94) and Andy Markowski (1997-99) -- have earned the award three times.

To qualify for first-team academic all-conference honors, student-athletes must maintain a 3.2 grade-point average or higher either cumulative or in the previous two semesters, and must have participated in at least 60 percent of the team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible. Seniors who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

Nebraska's First-Team Academic All-Big 12 Selections
Name    Class   Major   Hometown
Adam Bohac      Sr.     Finance Kimball, Neb.
Brian Conklin   Sr.     English/Secondary Education     Hubbard, Ohio
Jake Muhleisen  Jr.     Finance Lincoln, Neb.
John Turek      Jr.     Marketing       Council Bluffs, Iowa
Jason Dourisseau        So.     Undeclared      Omaha, Neb.
Tony Wilbrand   So.     Computer Science        Alliance, Neb.

Big Red Report Top Stories