Four Huskers Named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

Big 12 media and writers selected Oklahoma to finish first in the Southern Divison, while they selected Kansas State to win the Northern Division. Nebraska was picked to finish third, behind Kansas State and Missouri in the North Division. Four Huskers were selected to the preseason first team.

Solid Returnees From Eight Bowl Teams on All-Big 12 Conference Football Team;

Kansas State, Oklahoma Pre-2004 Top Divisional Selections

Twenty-five standouts from eight post-2003 bowl teams highlight the ninth annual preseason 2004 All-Big 12 Conference team chosen by media attending Big 12 Football Media Days along with annual projected divisional standings.

2003 Heisman Trophy winner QB Jason White of Oklahoma and All-America RB Darren Sproles of Kansas State are among the stalwarts on this dream team. Defending Big 12 champ Kansas State (a 35-7 winner over then-No. 1-nationally Oklahoma in the 2003 Dr Pepper Big 12 Football Championship) joins the Sooners as anticipated divisional winners in the media poll for 2004.

Sproles is the 2004 preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year while Defensive Player of the Year honors go to Texas LB Derrick Johnson. The seventh Big 12 Newcomer of the Year is Oklahoma true freshman RB Adrian Peterson.

The "Scribes and Pharisees" predictably tab KSU (North) and OU (South) as division champions after hitting 10 of the first 16 North-South trophy winners since 1996. In that first preseason survey eventual Big 12 winner Texas (South) and Nebraska (North) lived up to expectations and competed in the Dr Pepper Big 12 Championship. The Longhorns edged the Huskers 37-27 in St. Louis.

Pre-2004 All-Big 12 members come from all the contending teams, and Oklahoma leads the way with nine all-stars on the team. Nebraska had four, Texas had four, Missouri three, Oklahoma State three, Texas Tech two, Texas A&M two, and Kansas State one.

Returnees from the preseason '03 dream team are OU's Jammal Brown, Nebraska OL Richie Incognito, Texas RB Cedric Benson, Missouri QB Brad Smith (in a tie with the Sooners' White), and Sproles on offense. Defensive stars back for 2004 are UT's Johnson and 2003 Newcomer of the Year Donte' Nicholson of Oklahoma. Ten seniors or NFL signees' defenders were tabbed as pre-2003 All-Big 12 while nine seniors dot the media's '04 defensive team projections.

Sproles, a consensus selection in 2004 publications' All-America recognition, is coming off the ninth-best rushing season in Division I-A history after gaining 1,986 yards on 306 carries with 16 TDs. UT's Benson was 13th nationally with 1,360 yards on 258 rushing attempts in his third consecutive 1,000-yards-plus season.

QB White completed just under 62 percent of his passes for a school-record 40 touchdowns on 278-for-451 passing and a 158.1 efficiency rating. MU's Smith already is No. 7 in Big 12 career total offense with 6,805 yards and has a pair of 1,000-yard rushing seasons to his credit. White's primary target was WR Mark Clayton, who caught a school-record 83 passes for 1,425 yards (tops in the Big 12), 15 TDs and 17.2 yards per reception. The other WR on the preseason contingent is Texas Tech's Nehemiah Glover with 77 catches for 1,081 yards as a junior.

Many of the nation's outstanding defensive players are featured on this pre-campaign squad, and they number Texas' Johnson (125 tackles, four interceptions last season), Oklahoma DE Dan Cody (10 sacks in 2003), postseason All-Big 12 DL Dusty Dvoracek of Oklahoma, and Texas sophomore DL Rodrique Wright. The secondary contains the likes of NCAA interceptions leader (10) Josh Bullocks of Nebraska, Oklahoma State's Darrent Williams (11 career pass pilfers, 37 deflections), OU's Nicholson, and Texas A&M's Jaxson Appel. Nebraska LB Barrett Ruud and Missouri's All-Big 12 choice LB James Kinney join Oklahoma kicker Trey DiCarlo and Sooners' All-America punt return standout Antonio Perkins on the "dream" contingent. The punter is Oklahoma State's Cole Farden.

2004 Big 12 Conference Division Finishes (Media Vote)


    1.      Kansas State
    2.      Missouri
    3.      Nebraska
    4.      Colorado
    5.      Kansas
    6.      Iowa State


    1.      Oklahoma
    2.      Texas
    3.      Texas Tech
    4.      Oklahoma State
    5.      Texas A&M
    6.      Baylor

2004 Media Preseason All-Big 12 Teams (Media Vote)

WR Mark Clayton, Oklahoma, 5-11, 187, Sr., Arlington, Texas
WR Nehemiah Glover, Texas Tech, 5-8, 177, Sr., LaMarque, Texas
TE Matt Herian, Nebraska, 6-5, 240, Jr., Pierce, Neb.
OL Jammal Brown, Oklahoma, 6-6, 305, Sr., Lawton, Okla.
OL Sam Mayes, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 350, Sr., Austintown, Ohio
OL Vince Carter, Oklahoma, 6-4, 295, Jr., Salem, N.H.
OL Richie Incognito, Nebraska, 6-3, 300, Jr., Glendale, Ariz.
OL Jonathan Scott, Texas, 6-7, 310, Jr., Dallas, Texas
QB Jason White, Oklahoma, 6-3, 221, Sr., Tuttle, Okla.
(tie) QB Brad Smith, Missouri, 6-2, 205, Jr., Youngstown, Ohio
RB Darren Sproles, Kansas State, 5-7, 180, Sr., Olathe, Kan.
RB Cedric Benson, Texas, 6-0, 225, Sr., Midland, Texas
PK Trey DiCarlo, Oklahoma, 6-0, 204, Jr., Carrollton, Texas
KR Terrence Murphy, Texas A&M, 6-1, 193, Sr., Tyler, Texas

DE/OLB Dan Cody, Oklahoma, 6-5, 260, Sr., Ada, Okla.
DL Dusty Dvoracek, Oklahoma, 6-3, 287, Sr., Lake Dallas, Texas
DL Rodrique Wright, Texas, 6-5, 305, Jr., Houston, Texas
DL C.J. Mosley, Missouri, 6-3, 305, Jr., Ft. Leonard Wood, Mo.
DE/OLB Adell Duckett, Texas Tech, 6-4, 265, Sr., Mineral, Texas
LB Derrick Johnson, Texas, 6-4, 235, Sr., Waco, Texas
LB Barrett Ruud, Nebraska, 6-2, 240, Sr.., Lincoln, Neb.
LB James Kinney, Missouri, 6-1, 240, Sr., Kankakee, Ill.
DB Josh Bullocks, Nebraska, 6-0, 205, Jr., Chattanooga, Tenn.
DB Darrent Williams, Oklahoma State, 5-9, 175, Sr., Ft. Worth, Texas
DB Donte Nicholson, Oklahoma, 6-2, 210, Sr., Walnut, Calif.
DB Jaxson Appel, Texas A&M, 5-10, 196, Jr., Friendswood, Texas
P Cole Farden, Oklahoma State, 5-11, 200, Sr., Grapevine, Texas
PR Antonio Perkins, Oklahoma, 6-0, 188, Sr., Lawton, Okla.

Offensive Player of the Year - Darren Sproles, Kansas State
Defensive Player of the Year - Derrick Johnson, Texas
Newcomer of the Year - RB Adrian Peterson, RB, Oklahoma, 6-2, 210, Fr., Palestine, Texas

Big Red Report Top Stories