Tiedtke and Lingenfelter earn 2005 Scholarship

Nebraska Head Football Coach Bill Callahan announced on Saturday that two former walk-ons have earned scholarships. Senior defensive back Blake Tiedtke and junior offensive lineman Newton Lingenfelter have been placed on scholarship, beginning with the fall 2005 semester.

Tiedtke has served as a reserve defensive back throughout his Husker career, and this spring was named Nebraska's Most Improved Defensive Player. Tiedtke, a native of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, is a versatile defensive back capable of playing both cornerback and safety, and will contend for significant playing time in 2005.

The 6-5, 280-pound Lingenfelter will enter the fall as a candidate for playing time on the Husker offensive line. Lingenfelter, a Plainview, Neb., native finished spring football listed at left tackle, but has experience at other positions in the offensive line.

Lingenfelter and Tiedtke are the sixth and seventh former walk-on players who have been placed on scholarship since Callahan took over the Husker program in January of 2004. Defensive back Kellen Huston, offensive lineman Brandon Koch, tight end Dusty Keiser and safety Shane Siegel were awarded scholarships near the end of spring practice in 2004, and punter Sam Koch was awarded a scholarship early in the fall of 2004. Five of the seven players who have been awarded scholarships under Callahan are native Nebraskans, with Tiedtke and Huston from the state of Iowa.

Several other walk-on players made a significant impact in Callahan's first season as head coach. Among the walk-ons who saw action in 2004 were Grant Mulkey (Arlington, Texas, 19 receptions, 2 TDs), Lane Kelly (Omaha, starting long snapper for second straight year), Brandon Rigoni (Lincoln, seven tackles, 2004 Special Teams MVP), Matt Schroeder (Laurel, played in nine games as reserve receiver), Joey Robison (Bertrand, special teams, played in six games), Dan Erickson (Papillion, two tackles on special teams), Ben Eisenhart (Culbertson, special teams), Tyler Fisher (Grand Island, special teams) and Andy Kadavy (Seward, special teams).

Big Red Report Top Stories