Gordon Named Wallace Award Finalist

The field of candidates vying for the 2005 Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award has been reduced to three finalists, as Conference USA Pitcher of the Year Lance Broadway of TCU, Big 12 Conference Player of the Year Alex Gordon of Nebraska and Southeastern Conference Pitcher of the Year Luke Hochevar of Tennessee were announced by the College Baseball Foundation in Lubbock, TX.

The Brooks Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate baseball player and will be nationally televised on Fox Sports Network, and its' award-winning family of regional affiliate networks, as well as Fox College Sports. The trophy and Wallace Award winner will become part of the permanent display in the College Baseball Hall of Fame Museum under construction in Lubbock.

Broadway, Gordon, and Hochevar, along with their parents and head coaches, Jim Schlossnagle of TCU, Mike Anderson of Nebraska and Rod Delmonico of Tennessee, will travel to Lubbock for a golf tournament and a schedule of related activities, in addition to the award banquet.

The annual award banquet will be held on Thursday, June 30th at 7 p.m., and hosted at the United Spirit Arena, on the campus of Texas Tech University. Information regarding the sale of individual tickets, as well as group and corporate tables to the VIP event, is available by calling (806) 723-8232 or via the CBF website: www.collegebaseballfoundation.org

2005 Wallace Award Finalist Quick Bios

Lance Broadway, TCU, P, Jr., Grand Prairie, TX Finished his junior campaign with a school and Conference USA record for wins (15-1), compiling a 1.62 ERA in 117 innings pitched. He set a new single-season school record with 151 strikeouts, while walking just 35 batters. In Conference USA play, he was a perfect 9-0, with a 1.66 ERA in 10 starts. Named a First-Team All-America and CBF National Honors Team member, over the course of the season, the Conference USA Pitcher of the Year was named to the CBF National Weekly Honor Roll six times and conference Pitcher of the Week award four times.

Alex Gordon, Nebraska, 3B, Jr., Lincoln, NE The All-American third baseman started the Nebraska power surge by driving the second pitch he saw from Miami starter Brandon Camardese over the 403 sign in left center field Saturday, to help the Huskers sweep Miami in the Lincoln Super Regional to advance to NU's third College World Series in the last five years. His team-leading 19th home run of the season gave Nebraska a quick lead in the top of the first inning, extending his team's winning streak to 10 straight games, a perfect 5-0 in 2005 NCAA Tournament play.

Luke Hochevar, Tennessee, P, Jr., Fowler, CO Although he earned a no-decision in a, 3-2, Super Regional UT win over Georgia Tech last Friday, he helped lead the Vol's to their fourth berth in the CWS and extend the team's winning streak to five games. His last win versus LSU was UT's first-ever victory over LSU in the SEC tournament. The junior moved up to second place on UT's all-time single-season wins list, as he and Broadway are tied for the national lead in victories. Hochevar heads to Omaha (15-2), with a 2.09 ERA, and a SEC-high 151 strikeouts in 133 2/3 innings.

The Brooks Wallace Award is dedicated to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach, who was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District Six his senior year, when he led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament. After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant, and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984 he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, Texas, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.

The final CBF National Selection Committee balloting to pick the 2005 Wallace Award winner will conclude at Midnight, June 28th. The group is comprised of a select national panel of coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media (print, radio and television) who most closely follow the sport on a daily basis. The Wallace Award is the only major collegiate honor of its' type that tracks the nominees through the entire season, from first pitch through the completion of the NCAA College World Series. Voting for the Wallace Award winner will be conducted by confidential balloting, with totals tabulated by the J.W.Anderson & Associates accounting firm in Lubbock, TX.

Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton won the 2004 Brooks Wallace Award, and the awards' lineage includes former Player of the Year winners Andy Benes, Ben McDonald, Mike Kelly, Bobby Jones, Mike Smith, Darren Dreifort, Jason Varitek, Mark Kotsay, Kris Benson, Lance Berkman, Brad Wilkerson and Jason Jennings.

The one-hour Wallace Award presentation will debut on Fox Sports Southwest, on Monday, July 4th at 8 p.m. (CDT), and will be carried nationally by FSN affiliates such as Sun Network, Fox Sports Southeast, FSN Arizona, FSN Northwest and FSN West, among others. The new Fox College Sports networks (Atlantic, Central and Pacific) will also air the program during July. Exact times, dates and additional clearances around the country will be updated, as they are made available. Please check your local listings, as the complete list of clearances will be updated regularly at:

College Baseball Foundation - www.collegebaseballfoundation.org

Big Red Report Top Stories