Sam Koch a Semifinalist for Ray Guy Award

Nebraska senior punter Sam Koch has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award as announced Wednesday by the Greater Augusta (Ga.) Sports Council. The Ray Guy Award is presented annually to the nation's top college punter and is named after former college and NFL punting great Ray Guy, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2004.

The 6-1, 225-pound Koch has been a major factor inNebraska boasting one of the nation's top special teams units. Koch is averaging 45.0 yards per punt this season to rank ninth nationally in punting average. Koch's strong leg and punting accuracy has helped Nebraska rank second nationally in net punting at 39.9 yards per attempt.

The Seward, Neb., native has placed nearly half of his punts inside the opponent's 20-yard line, as 21 of his 43 punts have been downed inside the 20. Koch has also shown his power, connecting on three punts of 70 yards or more, including an 84-yard punt against Pitt. The 84-yarder was the second-longest punt in school history and the longest in Big 12 Conference history.

Koch is one of three Big 12 Conference punters on the semifinal list, joining Colorado's John Torp and Kyle Tucker of Kansas. Koch is the second straight Nebraska punter to be named a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award. Former Husker All-American Kyle Larson was one of three finalists for the award during his senior season in 2003.

A national voting body of Division I-A coaches and sports information directors, national media and former punters will determine the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of the award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 8.


2005 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Name                           School                         Year

Danny Baugher              Arizona                          Senior

Dave Brytus                   Purdue                          Sophomore

Gordon Ely-Kelso           Georgia                         Junior

Chris Hall                      Florida State                  Senior

Sam Koch                    Nebraska                     Senior

Ryan Plackemeier          Wake Forest                 Senior

Nic Schmitt                   Virginia Tech                 Junior

John Torp                      Colorado                       Senior

Kyle Tucker                   Kansas                         Sophomore

Eric Wilbur                    Florida                          Junior

Big Red Report Top Stories