Nebraska Boasts 235 Big 12 Honor Roll Members

The Big 12 Conference recently announced its Fall 2005 Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll, and Nebraska was well-represented with 235 student-athletes on the list.

The Commissioner's Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes who earned a 3.0 grade-point average or higher in the previous semester. Among Nebraska's 235 award winners, 35 completed the fall semester with a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

The Husker football team had 31 players named to the Fall Honor Roll, including Bryan Benzel, Daniel Bullocks, Wes Cammack, Kurt Mann, Dane Todd and Tyler Wortman, who each earned 4.0 grade-point averages in the fall semester. Mann and Todd were both named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll for the seventh consecutive semester, while fifth-year seniors Blake Tiedtke and Mike Stuntz each earned their ninth Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll citation.

Coach John Cook's NCAA runner-up volleyball team also excelled in the classroom in the fall. Ten of the Huskers' 13 team members were named to the Honor Roll, including four players who earned perfect grade-point averages in the fall. 2005 AVCA National Player of the Year Christina Houghtelling was joined by All-American Sarah Pavan, sophomore Tracy Stalls and freshman Amanda Gates in earning 4.0 GPAs.

The Husker soccer team had a successful fall in the classroom and on the field. Seventeen members of the squad were named to the Honor Roll, including three student-athletes with 4.0 grade-point averages. The Husker women's cross country team that finished fifth at both the Big 12 and NCAA Midwest Regional Championships had nine student-athletes named to the Fall Honor Roll. Five members of Coach Jay Dirksen's team had perfect 4.0 grade-point averages during the fall, including senior All-American Kayte Tranel.

Nebraska 2005 Big 12 Fall Commissioner's Honor Roll Selections

Big Red Report Top Stories