Three Huskers Named to Watch Lists

Three Husker players, senior defensive end Adam Carriker, junior MIKE linebacker Corey McKeon and senior quarterback Zac Taylor have all recently been named to preseason watch lists for major national awards.

On Tuesday, the Maxwell Football Club announced the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which included both senior defensive end Adam Carriker and junior MIKE linebacker Corey McKeon. The Bednarik Award is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club to the nation's Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

Last week, Carriker was also named to the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, as announced by the Football Writers Association of America. The FWAA has presented the award since 1993 to the best defensive player in college football.

In addition, senior quarterback Zac Taylor was named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented annually by the Maxwell Club to the nation's Outstanding College Football Player.

Carriker is also a preseason first-team All-America pick by Playboy, Athlon's and Lindy's. Carriker finished his junior season as a first-team All-Big 12 pick when he recorded 9.5 sacks and 17 tackles for loss, along with 19 quarterback hurries.

McKeon had a standout sophomore season, compiling 98 total tackles, including a Nebraska linebacker record 22 tackles for loss. His performance earned him second-team All-Big 12 honors in 2005.

Taylor shattered Nebraska's single-game and season passing records in 2005, throwing for 431 yards against Iowa State and 2,653 yards on the season. Taylor threw for 19 touchdown passes on the year, capped by a three-touchdown effort in a victory over Michigan in the Alamo Bowl.

Big Red Report Top Stories