Suh Named to Lott Trophy Watch List

Nebraska senior defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh is one of 42 players who have been named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List.

The watch list is made up of 42 of the nation's top defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Suh will anchor the 2009 Nebraska defense after a dominant performance in 2008. Suh earned first-team All-Big 12 honors after leading Nebraska with 76 tackles, including 7.5 sacks and 19 tackles for loss. He was the first interior defensive lineman to lead Nebraska in tackles since 1973, and he also had two interception returns for touchdowns.

Suh is one of seven Big 12 players named to the watch list.

Named after Hall of Famer Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its sixth year, The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006, Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007 and Ja mes Laurinaitis of Ohio State last year. Georgia, Alabama, Cal, LSU and Ohio State have each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In five years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated nearly $650,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors comprised of many retired NFL players and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif. on December 13, 2009.

The2009 Lott Trophy Watch List

Mike Anello, DB, Notre Dame, Sr., 5-10, 170 (Orland Park, Ill.)

Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa, Sr., 6-1, 232 (Bettendorf, Ia)

Matthew Bauman, LB, BYU, Sr., 6-1, 232 (Salt Lake City)

Patrick Benoist, LB, Vanderbilt, Sr., 6-0, 222 (Southlake,Tx)

Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee, So., 5-11, 195 (Fairburn, Ga)

Alex Carrington, DE, Arkansas State, Sr., 6-5, 275 (Tupelo,Ms)

Terrence Cody, DT, Alabama, Sr., 6-5, 365 (Ft, Myers, Fl)

Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 240 (Los Angeles)

Harry Coleman, LB, LSU, Sr., 6-2, 205 (Baldwin, La)

Kurt Coleman, S, Ohio State, Sr., 5-11, 188 (Clayton,Oh)

Rennie Curran, LB, Georgia, Jr., 5-11, 228 (Snellville,Ga)

Brian Duncan, LB, Texas Tech, Sr., 6-1, 238 (Baton Rogue, La)

Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan, Sr., 6-2, 270 (Detroit)

Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College, Jr., 6-4, 238 (Wayne,Pa)

Jerry Hughes, DE, TCU, Sr., 6-3, 267 (Sugar Land, Tx)

Jeremy Jarmon, DE, Kentucky, Jr., 6-3, 268 (Collierville,Tn)

Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State, Jr., 6-1, 222(Cincinnati)

Jan Jorgensen, DE, BYU, Jr., 6-3, 260, (Helper, Ut)

Keaton Kristick, LB, Oregon State, Sr., 6-3, 226 (Fountain Hills,Az.)

Sean Lee, LB, Penn State, Sr. 6-2, 236 (Pittsburgh)

Taylor Mays, S, USC, Jr., 6-4, 225 (Seattle)

Rolando McClain, LB, Alabama, Jr., 6-4, 249 (Decatur, Al)

Gerald McCoy, DT, Oklahoma, Jr., 6-4, 300 (Oklahoma City)

Bo McNally, S, Stanford, Sr., 6-0, 210 (Salt LakeCity)

Derrick Morgan, DE, Georgia Tech, Jr., 6-4, 270 (Coatsville,Pa)

Roddrick Muckelroy, LB, Texas, Sr., 6-2, 235 (Hallsville,Tx)

Mike Nixon, LB, Arizona State, Sr., 6-3, 227 (Phoenix)

Eric Norwood, DE, South Carolina, Jr., 6-0, 258 (Acworth, Ga)

Vince Oghobaase, DT, Duke, Sr., 6-6, 300 (Houston)

Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia, Sr., 6-3, 298 (Sunrise, Fl)

Joe Pawelek, LB, Baylor, Sr., 6-2, 240 (San Antonio)

George Selvie, DE, South Florida, Jr., 6-4, 242 (Pensacola, Fl)

Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida, Jr., 6-3, 245 (Shelby, NC)

Darrell Stuckey, DB, Kansas, Sr., 6-1, 205 (Kansas City)

Ndamukong Suh, DE, Nebraska, Sr., 6-4, 300 (Portland,Or)

Syd'Quan Thompson, DB, Cal, Sr., 5-9, 187 (Sacramento)

Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA, Jr., 5-11, 178 (Carson,Ca)

T.J.Ward, DB, Oregon, Sr., 5-11, 200 (Antoch, Ca.)

Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri, Jr., 6-1, 230 (Jasper, Tx)

Ryan Winterswyk, DE, Boise State, Sr., 6-4, 258 (La Habra,Ca.)

Reed Williams, LB, Sr., West Virginia, 6-1, 228 (Moorefieild, WVa.)

Corey Wootton, DE, Sr., Northwestern, 6-7, 270 (Rutherford,N.J.)

Big Red Report Top Stories