2014 Lobo Football Banquet Awards

Lobo Football Wraps up the 2014 Season with their Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony.

Issued by UNM Media Relations:

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- After obliterating one of the oldest records in the Lobo record book, it was fitting for Jhurell Pressley to take home three end-of-season football awards, including Team MVP.  It also was fitting that Lamar Bratton, the lone senior captain, was honored more than once.

Pressley took home three honors and Bratton took home a pair to highlight the 2014 Lobo Football Awards Banquet, held at the Albuquerque Embassy Suites Hotel Ballroom on Sunday night.

Pressley, who broke a 55-yard old UNM record for yards per carry (averaging 9.5 yards per tote this season) was named both the Reese Hill Offensive Most Valuable Player, and the Bill Brannin Most Valuable Player.  Pressley also earned the Red Menace Award.  Bratton, who played every snap this season, won the Big Brother Award and the Chuck Cummings Most Inspirational Award.

In all, 14 awards were handed out.  Of note, Tayo Adewon was a repeat winner for the Most Valuable Defensive Scout Team Player, and the Clyde Hill Most Improved Player Award went to a quarterback for a second straight season as Lamar Jordan earned the honor after Cole Gautsche won it last year.

The banquet was more than just an awards presentation and a dinner.  The program included speeches by David Guthrie and Tanya Bratton, the mother of LaMar Bratton.  There were also musical performances by Johnny Vizcaino, Aaron Jenkins, and Vizcaino and Jacori Greer as well as recognition of all of the first-year letter winners.

Coach Bob Davie also announced at the banquet that Volcano Vista graduate defensive end Randy Williams and Rio Rancho graduate kicker/punter Zack Rogers had earned scholarships, removing them from walk-on status.

Eleven of the 14 awards are based solely on voting from members of the 2014 team.  The Academic Most Improved, the Academic Achievement Award are selected by the academic staff, and the Red Menace Award is awarded from that organization and was presented by Wes Henderson and Rudy Chavez.  The awards were presented by the coaching staff.

The awards and the individual winners were as follows (in order of presentation):

Big Brother of the Year Award: LaMar Bratton
Academic Most Improved Award: Tevin Newman
Academic Achievement Award: Reece White
New Mexico Man Award: Randy Williams
The Red Menace Award: Jhurell Pressley
Most Valuable Offensive Scout Team Player Award: Matt Quarrells
Most Valuable Defensive Scout Team Player Award: Tayo Adewon
First-Team Award (Unselfish Devotion to the Team): Trajuan Briggs and Tyler Duncan
Clyde Hill Most Improved Player Award: Lamar Jordan
Outstanding Special Teams Player Award: Zack Rogers
Colonel H.J. Golightly Defensive Most Valuable Player Award: Dakota Cox
Reese Hill Offensive Most Valuable Player Award: Jhurell Pressley
Chuck Cummings Most Inspirational Player Award: LaMar Bratton
Bill Brannin Most Valuable Player Award: Jhurell Pressley

Inside The Lobos Top Stories