Gottfried Returns to NABC Board of Directors

Kansas City, Kan. — The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) has added four coaches to its board of directors. Jim Boeheim of Syracuse and North Carolina State's Mark Gottfried are returning to the board while Pittsburgh's Jamie Dixon and Butler's Brad Stevens join the group for the first time.

The new directors replace past presidents Tubby Smith of Minnesota and Tom Izzo of Michigan State, Maryland's Gary Williams and Gary Stewart of UC Davis as Division I representatives. Williams retired after the 2010-11 season and Stewart was recently appointed as head coach at Stevenson University, a member of NCAA Division III. Boeheim was the NABC president in 2008 and Gottfried served previously on the board when he was the head coach at Alabama.

About the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game.

The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education.

Pack Pride Top Stories