Pack Pride's All-ACC Ballot

Pack Pride writer Austin Johnson has submitted his all-conference picks to the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Here is a glimpse at Austin's ballot with the teams expected to be announced today.

Pack Pride writer Austin Johnson has submitted his all-conference picks to the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. Here is a glimpse at Austin's ballot with the teams expected to be announced today.

Austin had three NC State players on his first team, and Wolfpack wide receiver T.J. Graham was the only Pack standout named offensively. The senior was selected by Johnson as the ACC's first-team specialist for his work in the return game.

T.J. Graham

Graham started the year as one of the nation's leaders in all-purpose yardage, but his return yardage dropped as the season progressed and State's defense improved.

Graham has 193 yards on punt returns and a touchdown in 2011, and he has also tallied 923 yards as a kick returner. He leads the ACC in yards per punt return and ranked No. 5 in the league in yards per kick return, and is the only player in the ACC to total over 1,000 yards (1,116) in the return game.

Austin placed junior linebacker Terrell Manning and sophomore cornerback David Amerson on his first-team defense.

Manning has quietly had a strong junior season after suffering an injury earlier in the year. He sustained the injury early in the win over South Alabama and missed both games against Cincinnati and Georgia Tech, two losses.

Manning returned against Central Michigan, recording nine tackles, a sack, a forced fumble, and an interception in the Wolfpack's 38-24 victory.

He finished the regular season with 70 tackles, 13 tackles for a loss, 5.5 sacks, five pass breakups, four forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries, two quarterback pressures, and two interceptions.

Terrell Manning

Despite missing two full games and most of another, Manning ranks No. 2 in the league in tackles for a loss, No. 7 in sacks, and No. 15 in tackles. He also leads the ACC in forced fumbles and fumble recoveries.

His play down the stretch was a major reason why the Wolfpack went 5-2 after Manning returned from the injury. Amerson was the league's top defensive back and is considered a lock for first-team honors. The 6-foot-3 sophomore leads the ACC, and the nation, with 11 interceptions. He broke the NC State single-season interception mark that had stood since 1938 earlier this year and has tied the ACC single-season record that was set 15 years ago by UNC's Dre Bly.

He is a finalist with Alabama senior safety Mark Barron and LSU junior cornerback Morris Claiborne for the Jim Thorpe Award, given annual to the top defensive back in the country.

While he is certainly a ballhawk, Amerson showed throughout the year that he will come up and make tackles as well. He recorded 54 tackles, fifth-best on the team, and leads the Wolfpack with five pass breakups.

On Austin's second team he had three Wolfpackers. Offensively he tabbed senior tight end George Bryan, and he selected senior linebacker Audie Cole and junior safety Earl Wolff on the defensive side.

Bryan has tallied 30 catches for 302 yards and four touchdowns. He ended the season strong, recording 16 catches for 154 yards and two touchdowns in his final three games. Bryan was a first-team All-ACC pick in 2009 and 2010.

Cole has had a superb year after moving from strongside linebacker to middle linebacker in the spring. He has totaled 98 tackles, 9.5 tackles for a loss, 3.5 sacks, four pass breakups, four quarterback hurries, four forced fumbles, and a recovery.

He is tied with Manning for first in the ACC in forced fumbles, and he ranks tenth overall in total tackles.

Wolff leads the Wolfpack in tackles with 99, and he also has three forced fumbles, three pass breakups, three interceptions, and two fumble recoveries.

David Amerson

Overall, Austin named Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly his Defensive Player of the Year and the ACC Player of the Year. He also tabbed Virginia Tech tailback David Wilson the ACC's Offensive Player of the Year. Clemson wideout Sammy Watkins was picked as the league's Offensive Rookie of the Year, and Wake Forest cornerback Noel Merrill was picked as the top defensive rookie.

Finally, Austin picked Virginia' Mike London as Coach of the Year. The Cavaliers finished the season 8-4 and 5-3 in the ACC, tied for second in the Coastal Division. UVA was selected to finish fifth in the Coastal in the preseason, but if they had defeated Virginia Tech on Saturday they would have won the Coastal Division.

Below is Austin Johnson and Pack Pride's official ballot.


QB: Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
RB: David Wilson, Virginia Tech
RB: Gio Bernard, UNC
WR: Sammy Watkins, Clemson
WR: Chris Givens, Wake Forest
TE: Dwayne Allen, Clemson
OT: Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech
OT: Zebrie Sanders, FSU
OG: Austin Pasztor, Virginia
OG: Jaymes Brooks, Virginia Tech
C: Anthony Mihota, Virginia
K: Dustin Hopkins, FSU
Spc: T.J. Graham, NC State

DE: Andre Branch, Clemson
DE: Brandon Jenkins, FSU
DT: Brandon Thompson, Clemson
DT: Joe Vellano, Maryland
LB: Luke Kuechly, BC
LB: Sean Spence, Miami
LB: Terrell Manning, NC State
CB: David Amerson, NC State

CB: Rod Sweeting, Georgia Tech
S: Matt Daniels, Duke
S: Antone Exum, Virginia Tech
P: Shawn Powell, FSU


QB: Tajh Boyd, Clemson
RB: Lamar Miller, Miami
RB: Andre Ellington, Clemson
WR: Connor Vernon, Duke
WR: Dwight Jones, UNC
TE: George Bryan, NC State
OT: Phillip Price, Clemson
OT: Oday Aboushi, Virginia
OG: Antoine McClain, Clemson
OG: Joe Looney, Wake Forest
C: Tyler Horn, Miami
K: Chandler Catanzaro, Clemosn
Spc: T.J. Thorpe, UNC

DE: Cam Johnson, Virginia
DE: J.R. Collins, Virginia Tech
DT: Matt Conrath, Virginia
DT: Tydreke Powell, UNC
LB: Julian Burnett, Georgia Tech
LB: Zach Brown, UNC
LB: Audie Cole, NC State
CB: Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
CB: Chase Minnifield, Virginia
S: Josh Bush, Wake Forest
S: Earl Wolff, NC State
P: Dawson Zimmerman, Clemson


Offensive Player of the Year: RB David Wilson, Virginia Tech
Defensive Player of the Year: LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College
Offensive Rookie of the Year: WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson
Defensive Rookie of the Year: DB Noel Merrill, Wake Forest

Player of the Year: Luke Kuechly, Boston College

Coach of the Year: Mike London, Virginia

Pack Pride Top Stories