Amerson Recognized on Thorpe Award Watch List

The honors keep rolling in for junior cornerback David Amerson, as he was announced on the 2012 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List. Last season, he was one of three finalist for the award which is given annually to the best defensive back in college football.

Earlier this week, David Amerson was named to both the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List and the Bednarik Award Watch List.

The 2012 Preseason Watch List for the Jim Thorpe Award includes 35 of the top defensive backs in the country representing 11 conferences.

Last season, Amerson set the ACC and NC State single-season record for interceptions with 13 that mark ties for second in FBS history. He was named a Walter Camp and ESPN first-team All-American, was the winner of the Jack Tatum Award, and one of three finalists for the Thorpe Award.

The Thorpe Award is named after history's greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The 2012 Olympics mark the 100-year anniversary of Thorpe winning gold in the decathlon and pentathlon at the Stockholm Olympics.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compiles a list of 30-40 players each year. The list is not final and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on December 6, 2012 on ESPN.

Pack Pride Top Stories