Glennon Named To O'Brien Watch List

RALEIGH, N.C. - Quarterback Mike Glennon has been named to the Davey O'Brien Watch List, last week, Glennon was named to the Maxwell Award List.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

In his first season as the Pack's starting quarterback last season, Glennon threw for 31 touchdowns on the season, that mark ties as the second-highest mark in school history. He ranked fourth in the ACC in passing yards per game, second in touchdown throws.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

A Fan Vote component that counts as 5% during each round of voting. Beginning Sept. 4 fans are invited to cast their vote as often as once daily at The Fan Vote is combined with the result from the Selection Committee and totals are cleared after each voting round.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

Pack Pride Top Stories