Pack Announces Football Awards

RALEIGH, N.C. - The NC State football team held its awards banquet on Sunday afternoon at the Marriott in downtown Raleigh.

Placekicker Niklas Sade was named the recipient of the team's Governor's Award, which is given annually to NC State's MVP.

Sade was the seventh-leading scorer in the ACC and his 19 field goals was the second-best mark in school history. He was perfect on his point-after attempts in 2013, was a two-time ACC Player of the Week, a two-time Lou Groza Star of the Week and was a semifinalist for the 2013 Groza Award.

He finished his junior campaign ranked second in school history in career PATs and fourth in field goals made.

Rashard Smith was named the recipient of the Torry Holt Award, given to the team's offensive MVP, while linebacker Robert Caldwell won the Mario Williams Award, which designates the most valuable contributor to the defense.

Jumichael Ramos and Jack Tocho were named co-winners of the Philip Rivers Award for Most Valuable Freshman and Zach Gentry was named the Special Teams MVP.

Following is a complete list of the Wolfpack's award winners for 2013:
Earle Edwards Academic Award:
Tyler Purvis

Mike Hardy Award (Winning Attitude and Playing Above Capabilities): Milton Hall and Rod Cox

Bo Rein Award (Vital Contribution in an Unsung Role): Tony Creecy

Bob Warren Award (Integrity and Sportsmanship): Duran Christophe

Al Michaels Award (Putting Team before Self): Ryan Cheek

Ken McNeill Iron Wolf Award (Comeback from Injury): Jarvis Byrd, Darryl Cato-Bishop

Community Service Award: Asa Watson

Wolfpack Spirit Award (Special Supporter of the Program): Director of Sports Nutrition Kate Kirby

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Jacoby Brissett

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Rogers Clark and Jerod Fernandez

Gary Rowe Wide Receiver of the Year: Quintin Payton

Jim Ritcher Offensive Lineman of the Year: Joe Thuney

DeWayne Washington Defensive Back of the Year: Dontae Johnson

Bill Cowher Linebacker of the Year: D.J. Green

Carey Brewbaker Defensive Lineman of the Year: Art Norman

Philip Rivers Award (Most Valuable Freshman): Jumichael Ramos, Jack Tocho

Most Valuable Special Teams Player: Zach Gentry

Torry Holt Most Valuable Offensive Player: Rashard Smith

Mario Williams Most Valuable Defensive Player: Robert Caldwell

Governor's Award (Team MVP): Niklas Sade

Pack Pride Top Stories