Wolfpack Elects 2015 Leadership Council

RALEIGH, N.C. - In the huddle following today's practice, Wolfpack head coach Dave Doeren announced the newest members of the Wolfpack Football Leadership Council. This group of players represents each position on the field and is elected annually by the team to provide guidance and direction.

Doeren calls his Leadership Council the "voice of the locker room," and added that "being elected to the Leadership Council shows that these young men have earned the respect of their teammates."

Election to the Leadership Council is not a recognition of athletic prowess, but leadership ability. Doeren goes to the council when he needs player input on a decision and a player can go to the council with issues they would like brought up to the coaches.

The members of each position group voted for an underclassman (first or second year) and an upperclassman (third or fourth year) and the top vote getters were elected. Several players were elected for the third straight year: Hakim Jones (S), Jack Tocho (CB), Joe Thuney (OL) and Jacoby Brissett (QB). M.J. Salahuddin (LB), Benson Brown (TE), Tony Adams (OL) and Gavin Locklear (WR) will be in their second term on the council.

"This is going to be a great group to work with," he continued. "We will give them the opportunity to grow as leaders and the resources to empower them."

Cornerback Jack Tocho Mike Stevens
Safety Hakim Jones Shawn Boone/Dexter Wright
Linebacker/Nickel M.J. Salahuddin Airius Moore
Defensive Line Mike Rose B.J. Hill
Running Back Shadrach Thornton Reggie Gallaspy II
Tight End/Fullback Benson Browne Cole Cook
Quarterback Jacoby Brissett Jalan McClendon
Wide Receiver Gavin Locklear Stephen Louis
Offensive Line Joe Thuney Tony Adams
Special Teams William Stephenson  

Pack Pride Top Stories