Barber Named First-Team All-ACC

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – ACC Player of the Year Malcolm Brogdon of Virginia leads the 2015-16 Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) postseason basketball awards and all-conference team announced on Sunday.

Anthony Barber, the ACC's leading scorer, was voted first team All-ACC by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). 

Barber averaged 23.4 points per game in the regular season - good for seventh in the nation - while leading the conference in made free throws and minutes played. He scored 30 points or more on eight occasions, including a career-high 38 points in a win over Wake Forest. He also scored 31 points in a win at Pittsburgh and 30 in the Pack's victory over Miami.

The 6-2 junior point guard set the school record for free throws made in a season with 226. Barber also ranks third in the ACC by shooting 86.6 percent at the free throw line. 

Virginia's Malcolm Brogdon was voted the league's player and defensive player of the year. Miami's Jim Larranaga was tabbed by the media as coach of the year and Duke's Brandon Ingram was voted freshman of the year.

Barber and the Wolfpack will play Tuesday at noon in the opening game of the 2016 ACC Tournament in Washington, D.C. NC State is the No. 12 seed and will play No. 13 seed Wake Forest, with the winner advancing to play No. 5 seed Duke.

2016 All-ACC Teams (Media Vote)
1st Team
Malcolm Brogdon (Player of the Year)
Brice Johnson, UNC Chapel Hill
Cat Barber, NC State
Grayson Allen, Duke
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

2nd Team
Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Brandon Ingram, Duke
Damion Lee, Louisville

3rd Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Georgia Tech
Anthony Gill, Virginia
Zach Auguste, Notre Dame
Michael Young, Pittsburgh
Angel Rodriguez, Miami

Honorable Mention: Justin Jackson (UNC Chapel Hill), Tonye Jekiri (Miami), Zach LeDay (Virginia Tech), Chinanu Onuaku (Louisville), Marcus Paige (UNC Chapel Hill), London Perrantes (Virginia), Devin Thomas (Wake Forest)

ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larranaga, Miami

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke

ACC Most Improved Player
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, UNC Chapel Hill

Pack Pride Top Stories