Men's Basketball Holds Annual Awards Banquet

RALEIGH, N.C. - The NC State men's basketball team held its annual banquet Sunday evening at the RBC Center.

Ilian Evtimov and Marcus Melvin each took home three honors, while Jordan Collins and Julius Hodge were honored twice. Among the 2003-04 team's achievements were: a third consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament, a second place finish in the ACC with an 11-5 record, and finishing the season in the top-20 in both the final AP and Coaches polls.

Ilian Evtimov won the Terry Gannon Award as the team's leading free throw shooter. Evtimov finished second in the ACC in free throw percentage hitting 87.6 percent, making an incredible 45-of-47 (.956) in ACC games, and at one point during the season he hit 38 in a row. Evtimov was one of six NC State players to hit at least 80.0 percent from the free throw line, helping the Pack lead the nation and set a new ACC record shooting 79.9 percent on the season. Evtimov also had the most deflections (213) and most charges drawn (10).

Senior Marcus Melvin won both rebounding awards. Melvin won the Lorenzo Charles Award for most offensive rebounds, and also the Ronnie Shavlik Award for best rebounder. Melvin finished fifth in the ACC with 8.1 rebounds per game, in a season where he earned second-team All-ACC honors. Melvin also shared the Best Defender Award with fellow senior captain Scooter Sherrill.

Julius Hodge was given the Kevin Thompson Award as having the best field goal percentage. Hodge not only led the team shooting 50.7 percent, but he led the ACC. Hodge was also named the team's Most Versatile Player.

Freshman Engin Atsür won the Rodney Monroe Award as the team's leading three point shooter. Atsür connected on 38.3 percent (46-of-120) of his long distance shots, including hitting 43.7 percent in ACC games.

Jordan Collins won the Tom Gugliotta Award, given to the Pack's most improved player. Collins dropped over 30 pounds prior to his junior season, and contributed to the Pack starting 10 games and playing in a total of 23.

Levi Watkins was given the Sixth Man Award. Cameron Bennerman was deemed the Best Cutter, while Collins was named Best Screener. Will Roach and Adam Simons both won the Jon Speaks Award, given to the best teammate. Chris McCoy earned the Scholar-Athlete Award for posting the high grade point average.

Coach Herb Sendek and esteemed Wolfpack community member Wendell Murphy were on hand to present awards. The senior class of Melvin, Roach and Sherrill unveiled the team's banner representing the 2004 NCAA appearance. Collins, Hodge and Watkins were also named captains for next season.

Best Field Goal Percentage (Kevin Thompson Award) - Julius Hodge
Best Three Point Shooter (Rodney Monroe Award) - Engin Atsur
Best Free Throw Shooter (Terry Gannon Award) - Ilian Evtimov
Best Offensive Rebounder (Lorenzo Charles Award) - Marcus Melvin
Best Rebounder(Ronnie Shavlik Award) - Marcus Melvin
Most Deflections (Sidney Lowe Award) - Ilian Evtimov
Most Charges Drawn (Monte Towe Award) - Ilian Evtimov
Best Defender (Nate McMillan Award) - Marcus Melvin & Scooter Sherrill
Best Screener/Cutter - Cameron Bennerman & Jordan Collins
Most Versatile - Julius Hodge
Most Improved Player (Tom Gugliotta Award )- Jordan Collins
Sixth Man Award - Levi Watkins
Best Teammate (Jon Speaks Award) - Will Roach & Adam Simons
Scholar-Athlete - Chris McCoy

Pack Pride Top Stories