Thompson Selected For National Collegiate HOF

RALEIGH, N.C. – NC State basketball legend David Thompson is one of eight members of the class of 2010 for the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Thompson, a three-time ACC Player of the Year and two-time National Player of the Year, led the Wolfpack to back-to-back ACC Championships in 1973 and '74 and to the 1974 NCAA Championship. He was a 1996 inductee into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame, which automatically makes him a Founding Member of the Collegiate Hall of Fame.

He joins former NC State player and assistant coach Vic Bubas, who was selected for enshrinement in 2007. Former Wolfpack coach Everett Case, who is a member of the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame, is also considered a Founding Member of the collegiate hall, but has not yet been enshrined.

The official induction of the four newest players, two coaches and two contributors will take place on Sunday, Nov. 21, at the Midland Theatre in Kansas City.

Others who will be inducted in the latest class include former Duke star Christian Laettner, UCLA player Sidney Wicks, West Virginia star Jerry West; veteran coaches Tex Winter and Davey Whitney; and contributors Tom Jernstedt and Wayne Duke.

Pack Pride Top Stories