Carter Named Butkus Award Semifinalist

North Carolina senior linebacker Bruce Carter has been named one of 15 semifinalist for the 2010 Butkus Award, which is given annually to the nation's best linebacker.

Carter has 31 tackles, one interception, one fumble recovery and one blocked punt this season.

The 15 collegiate semi-finalist nominees for the 26th annual Butkus Award include three who were nominated last year: Greg Jones of Michigan State; Travis Lewis of Oklahoma, and; Von Miller of Texas A&M, along with Manti Te'o of Notre Dame, who won the high school Butkus Award in 2008. The 12 nominees for the high school Butkus Award are from 11 states with two from Georgia. Finalists will be announced November 23, and winners notified by December 8. Meanwhile, the Butkus Award professional trophy winner will be announced in early 2011.

"This Award is about honoring linebackers, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2010 Butkus Award nominees:
• Akeem Ayers, UCLA
• Bruce Carter, North Carolina
• Mason Foster, Washington
• Mario Harvey, Marshall
• Don't'a Hightower, Alabama
• Justin Houston, Georgia
• Nate Irving, North Carolina State
• Greg Jones, Michigan State
• Luke Kuechly, Boston College
• Travis Lewis, Oklahoma
• Casey Matthews, Oregon
• Von Miller, Texas A&M
• Keenan Robinson, Texas
• Sean Spence, Miami (Fla.)
• Manti Te'o, Notre Dame

Inside Carolina Top Stories