Three ACC Awards for UNC

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - Sophomore forward John Henson is the Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, freshman forward Harrison Barnes is the ACC Rookie of the Year and Roy Williams is the ACC Coach of the Year.

Henson is the first Tar Heel to win the ACC's top defensive award, which was first given out in 2005. The Tampa, Fla., resident was also named the National Defensive Player of the Year by Fox and Yahoo! Sports. He leads the ACC in blocked shots with 94, an average of 3.1 per game, and is tied for third in rebounding at 9.7 per game. Henson has grabbed 10 or more rebounds in each of his last nine ACC games, becoming the first Tar Heel to grab double-figure rebounds in nine straight games since 1976.

Henson has anchored a Tar Heel defense that has not allowed the opponents to score 80 points or shoot 50 percent from the floor in each of the past 20 games. The Tar Heels are third in the ACC and 29thnationally in field goal percentage defense. Henson received 49 of 74 votes. Florida State's Chris Singleton (16) and Georgia Tech's Iman Shumpert (2) also received multiple votes.

Barnes is the ninth Tar Heel to win ACC Rookie of the Year honors and the fourth to play for Coach Williams. Previous UNC recipients include Sam Perkins (1981), Michael Jordan (1982), J.R. Reid (1987), Ed Cota (1997), Joseph Forte (2000), Marvin Williams (2005), Tyler Hansbrough (2006) and Brandan Wright (2007).

Barnes is Carolina's second-leading scorer at 14.1 points per game, but averaged a team-leading 15.9 a game in ACC play. He hit game-winning or go-ahead baskets in wins over Clemson (twice), Virginia Tech, Miami and Florida State. He hit a three-pointer with 6.6 seconds to play in UNC's 74-71 win at Miami and a three-pointer with 3.1 seconds to play in UNC's 72-70 win at Florida State. Barnes was the ACC's Rookie of the Week three times.

Barnes received 64 of 74 votes. Tar Heel point guard Kendall Marshall was second with seven votes.

Williams also won the ACC Coach of the Year award in 2006. He is the fourth UNC coach to win the award (Frank McGuire in 1957; Dean Smith in 1967, 1968, 1971, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1988 and1993; and Bill Guthridge in 1998).

Williams has led the Tar Heels to a 24-6 overall record and a 14-2 mark in the ACC. UNC became the first school in ACC history to win the regular-season championship outright after finishing seventh or lower in the standings the previous season. The Tar Heels start two freshmen, two sophomores and a junior who missed 10 or more games in each of his first two seasons due to injury.

Williams received 52 of 75 votes. Clemson's Brad Brownell (8), Boston College's Steve Donahue (6), FSU's Leonard Hamilton (4) and Duke's Mike Krzyzewski (3) also received multiple votes.

Williams has won conference coach of the year honors nine times in 23 years as a head coach. He won Big 8/Big 12 Coach of the Year honors seven times.

ACC Coach of the Year
Roy Williams, North Carolina (52)
Brad Brownell, Clemson (8)
Steve Donahue, Boston College (6)
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State (4)
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke (3)
Seth Greenberg, Virginia Tech (1)
Tony Bennett, Virginia (1)

ACC Rookie of the Year
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (64)
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (7)
Travis McKie, Wake Forest (2)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (1)

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
John Henson, North Carolina (49)
Chris Singleton, Florida State (16)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (2)
Jordan Williams, Maryland (2)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (1)
Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech (1)
Demontez Stitt, Clemson (1)
Kyle Singler, Duke (1)
Nolan Smith, Duke (1)

Inside Carolina Top Stories