Bobby Blizzard Named To Mackey Award List

Manhasset, N.Y. - University of North Carolina tight end Bobby Blizzard has been named to the John Mackey Award preseason "watch list." The Mackey Award is presented annually to for the best collegiate tight end. The winner of the Award will be announced in early December.

A 6-3, 270-pound senior from Hampton, Va., Blizzard was the Tar Heels' fourth-leading receiver in 2002. He finished the season with 28 catches for 440 yards and tied for the team lead with five touchdown receptions. Against Florida State, Blizzard caught six passes for 100 yards, becoming the first Tar Heel tight end since Mike Chatham in 1979 to have at least 100 yards receiving in a game. Blizzard transferred to North Carolina from Kentucky in 2001.

Former UNC tight end Alge Crumpler was a finalist for the Mackey Award in 2000.

The John Mackey Award was created by the Nassau County Sports Commission under the guidance of board member Don McPherson, a Nassau County native and former NFL and Syracuse University All-American quarterback. Mackey, also a Nassau County native, is regarded as one of the best athletes to have played the position of tight end. In addition to being an NFL Hall of Famer, he is a Super Bowl winner (Baltimore, Super Bowl V) and was the first President of the NFLPA.

2003 John Mackey Award Watch List
Alex Holmes SR USC
Alex Smith JR Stanford
Andrew Clarke JR Toledo
Andy Roland SO Duke
Ben Troupe SR Florida
Ben Utecht SR Minnesota
Benjamin Watson SR Georgia
Bo Scaife SR Texas
Bobby Blizzard SR North Carolina
Brett Pierce SR Stanford
Brock Edwards SR Texas
Chris Cooley SR Utah State
Duncan Reid JR Fresno State
Eric Knott JR Michigan St.
Heath Miller SO Virginia
Jason Rader SR Marshall
Joel Dreessen JR Colorado St.
Kellen Winslow JR Miami (FL)
Kevin Zureki SR E. Michigan
Kris Wilson SR Pittsburgh
Robert Johnson SR Auburn
Tim Euhus SR Oregon State

Inside Carolina Top Stories