Reddick Named to Nagurski List

The 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List was released on Thursday and included North Carolina senior linebacker Kevin Reddick.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

A starter since his freshman year, Reddick has compiled 190 tackles in his career, including finishing second on the team in 2011 with 71 tackles and six for loss despite missing games due to injury.

Players may be added or deleted from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the season. For the 12th consecutive season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If a recipient is not on the Watch List, he will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 15.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner is chosen from five finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the Bronko Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet presented by ACN will be Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C.

LINK: 2012 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Inside Carolina Top Stories