Boyd, Highsmith On Biletnikoff List

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc. has released the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, and North Carolina seniors Jheranie Boyd and Erik Highsmith are among the candidates. The award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football.

Boyd, a 6-2 speedster from Gastonia, N.C., caught 14 balls for 292 yards and five touchdowns in 2011. He averaged a team-high 20.9 yards per reception and also carried seven times for 56 yards.

Highsmith, a 6-3 standout from Vanceboro, N.C., proved to be a capable second option behind Dwight Jones in 2011, finishing his junior season with 51 receptions for 726 yards and five touchdowns. He had a career-best eight catches for 77 yards, including a 17-yard touchdown, in the Independence Bowl.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on Dec. 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30 p.m. on ESPN.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Sixteen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald. Foundation Selection Committee Chairman Ritchie Pickron noted, "The 2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in recent memory. We are expecting an extremely competitive contest among the receivers to win the Biletnikoff Award."

2012 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

(listed in alphabetical order)

Player School Year

Jared Abbrederis Wisconsin JR

Keenan Allen California JR

Tavon Austin West Virginia SR

Stedman Bailey West Virgina JR

Emory Blake Auburn SR

Josh Boyce TCU JR

Jheranie Boyd North Carolina SR

Corey Brown Ohio State JR

Dan Buckner Arizona SR

Michael Campanaro Wake Forest JR

DeVonte Christopher Utah SR

Keenan Davis Iowa SR

Marcus Davis Virgina Tech SR

Mike Davis Texas JR

Andre Debose Florida JR

Aaron Dobson Marshall SR

Noel Grigsby San Jose State JR

Cobi Hamilton Arkansas SR

Nick Harwell Miami (Ohio) JR

Willie Haulstead Florida State JR

Erik Highsmith North Carolina SR

Cody Hoffman BYU JR

DeAndre Hopkins Clemson JR

Justin Hunter Tennessee JR

Allen Hurns Miami (FL) JR

Darius Johnson SMU SR

TJ Jones Notre Dame JR

Tavarres King Georgia SR

Alec Lemon Syracuse SR

Colin Lockett San Diego State JR

Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt JR

Matt Miller Boise State SO

TJ Moe Missouri SR

Uzoma Nwachukwu Texas A&M SR

Quinton Patton Louisiana Tech SR

Tevin Reese Baylor JR

Da'Rick Rogers Tennessee JR

Roy Roundtree Michigan SR

Mike Shanahan Pittsburgh SR

Kenny Stills Oklahoma JR

Devin Street Pittsburgh JR

Ryan Swope Texas A&M SR

Conner Vernon Duke SR

Eric Ward Texas Tech JR

Markus Wheaton Oregon State SR

Terrance Williams Baylor SR

Marquess Wilson Washington State JR

Robert Woods USC JR

Inside Carolina Top Stories