Paige, McAdoo Earn All-ACC Honors

The ACC announced its All-ACC teams on Monday, as voted upon by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). Marcus Paige earned First-Team and Most Improved honors and James Michael McAdoo was selected to the Second Team. Kennedy Meeks was named to the All-Freshman Team and J.P. Tokoto was on the All-Defensive Team.

Paige, a sophomore from Marion, Iowa, is the first ever recipient of the ACC's Most Improved Player award. He becomes the 46th Tar Heel to earn first-team All-ACC honors and marks the 73rd time a UNC player has made the first team. He is the first UNC sophomore point guard to make the first team since Phil Ford in 1976. CoSIDA recently named Paige a second-team Academic All-America.

Paige leads UNC with 17.1 points a game, 138 assists, 75 three-pointers, a .395 three-point percentage and an .876 free throw percentage and is tied for the team lead with 49 steals. He has scored 20 or more points 11 times, is averaging nearly a dozen points in the second half and has earned UNC's defensive player of the game award 10 times. He is one of only two players in the league to rank in the Top 10 in both scoring (sixth) and assists (fourth). He also was the ACC Player of the Week a league-high four times this season.

Paige's and McAdoo's selection marks the fourth straight year that at least two Tar Heels earned All-ACC honors. The junior from Norfolk, Va., leads UNC in rebounding at 6.6 per contest and is the team's second-leading scorer at 14.2 a game.

Tokoto is the first Tar Heel to earn All-Defensive team honors since John Henson in 2011 and 2012. Tokoto is tied for the team lead in steals with 49, has 17 blocked shots and 121 defensive rebounds, just four off the team lead.

Meeks is the 19th Tar Heel to earn All-Freshman honors since the team was first selected in 1993. The Charlotte native is second among all ACC freshmen with 6.0 rebounds per game. He averages 7.4 points a game and leads Carolina in field goal percentage at .545.

First Team
Jabari Parker, Fr.. Duke (77) 231
T.J. Warren, So., N.C. State (77), 231
Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina (69) 223
C.J. Fair, Sr., Syracuse (47) 200
K.J. McDaniels, Jr. Clemson (46) 199

Second Team
Malcolm Brogdon, So., Virginia (35) 170
Lamar Patterson, Sr. Pitt (10) 158
Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (13) 156
Rodney Hood, Jr., Duke (4) 148
James Michael McAdoo, Jr., North Carolina (2) 103

Third Team
Olivier Hanlan, So., Boston College (3) 101
Joe Harris, Sr., Virginia (1) 79
Rion Brown, Sr., Miami 52
Dez Wells, Jr., Maryland 45
Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech 34

Honorable Mention
(10 points or more)
Eric Atkins, Sr., Notre Dame 30
Talib Zanna, Sr., Pitt 28
Aaron Thomas, So., Florida State 27
Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia 17
Jerami Grant,So. Syracuse 15
Ryan Anderson, Jr., Boston College 10

All-ACC Freshman Team
Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (77)
Jabari Parker, Duke (77)
London Perrantes, Virginia (66)
Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina (60)
Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech (55)

All-Defensive Team
KJ. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson (66)
Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech (60)
Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia (51)
Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (38)
J.P. Tokoto, So., North Carolina (18)

Most Improved Player
Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina

Sixth Man of the Year
Justin Anderson, So., Virginia

Inside Carolina Top Stories