Heels Host Iowa In ACC/Big Ten Challenge

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. -- North Carolina will host Iowa in the Smith Center as part of the 16th annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge. UNC and Iowa will meet on Wednesday Dec. 3 at a time to be determined.

ESPN announced the pairings on Thursday afternoon as part of an expanded format of 14 games—two more than previous Challenges—and the debut of Louisville in the ACC and Maryland and Rutgers as members of the Big Ten.

The Tar Heels will be facing Iowa for the first time in the event and for the first time overall since the 2004-05 season. The Hawkeyes lead the all-time series with Carolina, 2-1. UNC beat Iowa 106-92 on Nov. 24, 2004, in the championship game of the Maui Invitational behind the MVP performance of junior point guard Raymond Felton. The Tar Heels went on to win the NCAA championship three months later in St. Louis.

Iowa beat the Tar Heels twice in a home-and-home series in the late 1980s. On Jan. 7, 1989, the Hawkeyes beat UNC in the Smith Center. Iowa downed Carolina again in the return engagement in Iowa City.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 14 games of the three-day event matching top college basketball programs playing for conference supremacy and the Commissioners Cup. All 14 games will also be available via WatchESPN.

Three of the games will feature a showdown between teams ranked in an ESPN.com early preseason top 25 poll: No. 2 Duke at No. 4 Wisconsin, No. 25 Iowa at No. 6 North Carolina and No. 21 Syracuse at No. 24 Michigan. Additional teams in the Challenge that made the poll include No. 7 Virginia, No. 8 Louisville and No. 18 Michigan State.

All 14 Big Ten teams and 14 of the 15 ACC teams will participate in the 2014 Challenge. Boston College will not play in the 2014 event.

Monday, December 1
Nebraska at Florida State
Rutgers at Clemson

Tuesday, December 2
No. 21 Syracuse at No. 24 Michigan
Ohio State at No. 8 Louisville
Pittsburgh at Indiana
NC State at Purdue
Illinois at Miami
Minnesota at Wake Forest

Wednesday, December 3
No. 2 Duke at No. 4 Wisconsin
No. 18 Michigan State at Notre Dame
No. 25 Iowa at No. 6 North Carolina
No. 7 Virginia at Maryland
Georgia Tech at Northwestern
Virginia Tech at Penn State

Inside Carolina Top Stories