USA Today Sports

All-ACC Honors for 16 Tar Heels

Landon Turner, Elijah Hood named to First Team.

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Sixteen members of the Coastal Division champion North Carolina football team were recognized with All-ACC honors Monday, including first-team selections Elijah Hood and Landon Turner, as voted upon by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

No. 1 Clemson and eighth-ranked Carolina, which will meet in the 2015 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship game on Saturday night in Charlotte, North Carolina, filled a combined 31 spots on the All-ACC first-, second- or third teams.

The Atlantic Division champion Tigers lead with 17 selections, including six on the first team. The Coastal Division champion Tar Heels saw 13 players claim 14 spots, with junior Ryan Switzer chosen as both a second-team specialist and a third-team wide receiver. Three additional UNC standouts earned honorable mention.

The 14 All-ACC selections for the 2015 teams matches the most in school history. The 1993 squad, led by first-teamers Ethan Albright, Curtis Johnson and Bracey Walker, also claimed 14 spots on three All-ACC teams.

Six Tar Heels were named to the second team: OT Jon Heck, WR Mack Hollins, CB M.J. Stewart, OG Caleb Peterson, Switzer and QB Marquise Williams.

Six more from Carolina were picked for third team: C Lucas Crowley, WR Quinshad Davis, DT Nazair Jones, CB Des Lawrence, LB Shakeel Rashad and Switzer.

S Donnie Miles, LB Jeff Schoettmer and PK Nick Weiler round out the Tar Heel contigent, each garnering honorable mention.

The All-ACC first-team offensive unit includes the conference’s top two rushers in FSU's Dalvin Cook and North Carolina’s Hood (1,280 yards and 16 touchdowns), as well as the top two receivers in Pitt’s Tyler Boyd (85 catches for 873 yards) and Clemson’s Artavis Scott (77 receptions for 709 yards).

Also included among the first-team receiving corps are Virginia Tech’s Isaiah Ford, who leads all ACC wideouts with 10 touchdown catches and 937 receiving yards, and NC State tight end Jaylen Samuels (64 receptions, 599 yards and seven touchdowns).

The offensive line includes the 2015 ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy recipient in Florida State’s Roderick Johnson, as well as four-time ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week selection Turner of North Carolina. They are joined by NC State tackle Joe Thuney, Clemson guard Eric Mac Lain and Duke center Matt Skura.

Nineteen student-athletes chosen to the 2015 All-ACC Football team by ACSMA are repeat selections from last season, including Williams, Turner and Switzer.

First Team Offense
WR Tyler Boyd, Jr., Pitt (147)
WR Artavis Scott, So., Clemson (130)
WR Isaiah Ford, So., Virginia Tech (124)
TE Jaylen Samuels, So., NC State (93)
T Roderick Johnson, So., Florida State (102)
T Joe Thuney, Sr., NC State (82)
G Landon Turner, Sr., North Carolina (132)
G Eric Mac Lain, Sr., Clemson (113)
C Matt Skura, Sr., Duke (94)
QB Deshaun Watson, So., Clemson (150)
RB Dalvin Cook, So., Florida State (150)
RB Elijah Hood, So., North Carolina (123)
PK Roberto Aguayo, Jr., Florida State (86)
Sp. DeVon Edwards, Jr., Duke (103)

First Team Defense
DE Shaq Lawson, Jr., Clemson (132)
DE Ejuan Price, Sr., Pitt (111)
DT Carlos Watkins, Jr., Clemson (101)
DT Luther Maddy, Sr., Virginia Tech (60)
DT Connor Wujciak, Sr., Boston College (60)
LB Micah Kiser, So., Virginia (93)
LB Brandon Chubb, Sr., Wake Forest (87)
LB Keith Kelsey, Jr., Louisville (78)
CB Jalen Ramsey, Jr., Florida State (122)
CB Mackensie Alexander, So., Clemson (81)
S Jeremy Cash, Sr., Duke (122)
S Quin Blanding, So., Virginia (88)
P Riley Dixon, Sr., Syracuse (77)

Second Team Offense
WR Travis Rudolph, So., Florida State (96)
WR Canaan Severin, Sr., Virginia (88)
WR Mack Hollins, Jr., North Carolina (63)
WR Kermit Whitfield, Jr., Florida State (63)
TE Jordan Leggett, Jr., Clemson (77)
T Jon Heck, Jr., North Carolina (79)
T Adam Bisnowaty, Jr., Pitt (77)
G Dorian Johnson, Jr., Pitt (49)
G Caleb Peterson, Jr., North Carolina (45)
C Jay Guillermo, Jr., Clemson (88)
QB Marquise Williams, Sr., North Carolina (95)
RB Wayne Gallman, So., Clemson (115)
RB Qadree Ollison, Fr., Pitt (69)
PK Greg Huegel, Fr., Clemson (77)
Sp. Ryan Switzer, Jr., North Carolina (83)

Second Team Defense
DE Mike Rose, Sr., NC State (96)
DE DeMarcus Walker, Jr., Florida State (81)
DT Nile Lawrence-Stample, Sr., Florida State (58)
DT DeAngelo Brown, Jr., Louisville (46)
LB Steven Daniels, Sr., Boston College (65)
LB Ben Boulware, Jr., Clemson (60)
LB B.J. Goodson, Sr., Clemson (60)
LB Reggie Northrup, Sr., Florida State (60)
CB M.J. Stewart, So., North Carolina (65)
CB Artie Burns, Jr., Miami (51)
S Jayron Kearse, Jr., Clemson (69)
S Justin Simmons, Sr., Boston College (47)
P Alex Kinal, Sr., Wake Forest (75)

Third Team Offense
WR Stacy Coley, Jr., Miami (58)
WR Ryan Switzer, Jr., North Carolina (34)
WR Quinshad Davis, Sr., North Carolina (28)
TE Bucky Hodges, So., Virginia Tech (52)
T Mitch Hyatt, Fr., Clemson (66)
T Joe Gore, Sr., Clemson (59)
G Tyrone Crowder, So., Clemson (39)
G Kareem Are, Jr., Florida State (38)
C Lucas Crowley, Jr., North Carolina (58)
QB Brad Kaaya, So., Miami (30)
RB Taquan Mizzell, Jr., Virginia (43)
RB Travon McMillian, Fr., Virginia Tech (30)
PK Ross Martin Sr., Duke, (56)
Sp. Brisly Estime, Jr., Syracuse (34)

Third Team Defense
DE Sheldon Rankins, Sr., Louisville (47)
DE Ron Thompson, Jr., Syracuse (24)
DT Nazair Jones, So., North Carolina (33)
DT Derrick Nnadi, So., Florida State (31)
DT Darryl Render, Sr., Pitt (31)
LB Shakeel Rashad, Sr., North Carolina (58)
LB James Burgess, Sr., Louisville (53)
LB Dwayne Norman, Sr., Duke (43)
CB Cordrea Tankersley, Jr., Clemson (47)
CB Des Lawrence, Jr., North Carolina (45)
S Jordan Whitehead, Fr., Pitt (41)
S Derwin James, Fr., Florida State (30)
P Will Monday, Sr., Duke (39)

Honorable Mention Offense
TE Cam Serigne, So., Wake Forest (39)
T Bryan Chamberlain, Sr., Georgia Tech (29)
T Casey Blaser, Jr., Duke (23)
T Geron Christian, Fr., Louisville (20)
G Chad Mavety, Jr., Florida State (36)
G Lucas Patrick, Sr., Duke (35)
G Ross Burbank, Sr., Virginia (28)
G Trey Braun, Sr., Georgia Tech (25)
C Quinton Schooley, Sr., NC State (23)
RB Matt Dayes, Jr., NC State (29)
RB Joe Yearby, So., Miami (26)
PK Nick Weiler, Jr., North Carolina (36)
PK Michael Badgley, So., Miami (27)
Sp. Nyheim Hines, Fr., NC State (25)
Sp. Kermit Whitfield, Jr., Florida State (23)
Sp. Bra'Lon Cherry, Jr., NC State (22)

Honorable Mention Defense
DE Kevin Dodd, Jr., Clemson (22)
DT Adam Gotsis, Sr., Georgia Tech (28)
DT David Dean, Sr., Virginia (28)
DT Corey Marshall, Sr., Virginia Tech (21)
LB Trevon Young, Jr., Louisville (41)
LB Terrance Smith, Sr., Florida State (39)
LB Devonte Fields, Jr., Louisville (39)
LB Matt Milano, Jr., Boston College (38)
LB Jeff Schoettmer, Sr., North Carolina (25)
CB Trumaine Washington, So., Louisville (38)
CB Shaq Wiggins, So., Louisville (23)
CB Avonte Maddox, So., Pitt (21)
S Deon Bush, Sr., Miami (29)
S DeVon Edwards, Jr., Duke (27)
S Donnie Miles, So., North Carolina (26)
S Josh Harvey-Clemons, Jr., Louisville (21)
S Lamarcus Brutus, Sr., Florida State (20)
P Nicholas Conte, Jr., Virginia (31)
P Cason Beatty Sr., Florida State (27)

Inside Carolina Top Stories