Jim Hawkins/Inside Carolina

UNC's Brice Johnson Selected First-Team All-ACC

UNC senior finished second in Player of the Year voting.

UNC Senior forward Brice Johnson is a unanimous selection to the 2016 All-Atlantic Coast Conference first team selected by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Johnson and Virginia’s Malcolm Brogden were both unanimous selections receiving first-team votes on all 51 ballots cast. Brogden was named the ACC’s Player of the Year with Johnson finishing second.

Johnson is Carolina’s 74th first-team selection, which is seven more than any other school. Johnson is the 16th Tar Heel to be a unanimous choice and the fifth to accomplish that in the last quarter century (with Antawn Jamison in 1998, Joseph Forte in 2001, Tyler Hansbrough in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 and Tyler Zeller in 2012).

The Orangeburg, S.C., native earned third-team All-ACC honors a year ago. He leads the ACC in rebounding (10.8), field goal percentage (.606) and double-doubles (19) and is sixth in scoring (16.8).

Johnson led the Tar Heels to a 14-4 record en route to the 2016 ACC regular-season championship. Johnson had 18 points and 21 rebounds in Carolina’s ACC clinching victory at Duke on Saturday evening. He had 47 points and 40 rebounds in the two games this season against the Blue Devils.

Sophomore Justin Jackson and senior Marcus Paige received all-conference votes and were honorable mention selections. Sophomore point guard Joel Berry II was sixth in the balloting for most improved player.

2015-16 ACSMA All-ACC Teams
(First-place votes, followed by total points)

All-Atlantic Coast Conference
First Team
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 51 *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 51 *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 48 249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 47 247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 32 213

Second Team
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 8 155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami 6 136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame 3 130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke 4 129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville 1 90

Third Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech - 76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia - 70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame - 45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh - 37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami 3 35

Honorable Mention:
Justin Jackson, North Carolina; Tonye Jekiri, Miami; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia; Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.

All-ACC Freshman Team
Brandon Ingram, Duke *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 50
Malik Beasley, Florida State 49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest 28

All-ACC Defensive Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson 30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 27

ACC Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 1

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke 48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 1
Malik Beasley, Florida State 1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 1

ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larrañaga, Miami 24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech 22
Tony Bennett, Virginia 2
Roy Williams, North Carolina 1
Brad Brownell, Clemson 1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech 1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech 4
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech 1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina 19
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse 6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State 6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh 1

* Unanimous selection

Inside Carolina Top Stories