Brown On Rimington Award Watch List

University of North Carolina center Jason Brown has been named to the 2003 Dave Rimington Trophy watch list. The Dave Rimington Trophy is awarded annually to the best center in the country.

A junior from Henderson, N.C., Brown (6-3, 318) is one of the strongest players on the Tar Heel football team and has excellent quickness for an offensive linemen of his size. He set school records in each of the last two years for offensive linemen in the weight room in the squat (709 lbs.) and power clean (413 lbs.). Brown was ranked the No. 20 center in the country by The Sporting News in its annual preseason magazine.

"He has NFL potential and could be one of the best centers ever to play at North Carolina," said offensive line coach Hal Hunter. "I compare him favorably to Jeff Saturday who was a two-time first-team All-ACC player."

The Rimington Trophy recipient is determined by a consensus of the four All-America teams: The Walter Camp Football Foundation, America Football Coaches Association, Football Writers Association of America, and "The Sporting News."

The four-year old trophy (Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, and Miami's Brett Romberg are past recipients) is presented by Canon, USA and Black & Decker. The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Esiason, created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and '82 - years in which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's premiere college interior lineman.

The Sports Group also developed and directs the Heisman Winners Association (HWA), a limited liability company, which focuses marketing attention and opportunities on the Heisman winners as a collective group. TSG also currently works with and has worked with the John Wooden Award, the Senior CLASS Award, and the Driver of the Year Award as well as a variety of other professional and amateur organizations and companies.

Inside Carolina Top Stories