Inside Carolina/Jim Hawkins

UNC's Justin Jackson Achieves Consensus All-America Status

Tar Heel junior was named NABC First Team All-America on Friday.

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) named University of North Carolina junior forward Justin Jackson a first-team All-America, which clinches consensus first-team All-America honors for the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year.

Jackson previously earned first-team All-America honors from the Sporting News and second-team honors from the United States Basketball Writers Association. The Associated Press will announce its team next week. The NABC, USBWA, the Sporting News and the AP are the four organizations the NCAA uses to determine consensus All-America honors, which are the five players (plus ties) who make the majority of All-America first teams.

Jackson is joined on the NABC team by UCLA guard Lonzo Ball, Villanova forward Josh Hart, Kansas guard Frank Mason III and Purdue forward Caleb Swanigan. Those are the same five players that have earned consensus first-team All-America honors for 2017.

Jackson is the second Tar Heel to earn consensus first-team All-America honors in as many seasons – Brice Johnson earned that distinction as a senior in 2016.

Jackson is the 18th Tar Heel to earn consensus first-team All-America honors. Carolina players have earned a total of 27 consensus first-team honors, second most in college basketball history. Kansas is first with 29; Kentucky is third with 26.

Jackson is the third Tar Heel to play for head coach Roy Williams to earn consensus first-team All-America honors with Johnson and three-time honoree Tyler Hansbrough (2007, 2008 and 2009).

Williams has coached seven players who have earned a combined 10 consensus first-team All-America honors at Kansas and North Carolina. In addition to Tar Heel standouts Jackson, Johnson and Hansbrough, Raef LaFrentz (1997 and 1998), Paul Pierce (1998), Drew Gooden (2002) and Nick Collison (2003) earned consensus first-team All-America honors while playing for Williams at Kansas. Only Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski (15) has coached more consensus first-team All-Americas in the last 29 years.

Carolina’s 18 consensus All-Americas:
Cartwright Carmichael (1923 and 1924)
Jack Cobb (1924, 1925 and 1926)
George Glamack (1940 and 1941)
Lennie Rosenbluth (1957)
Larry Miller (1968)
Robert McAdoo (1972)
Phil Ford (1977 and 1978)
James Worthy (1982)
Michael Jordan (1983 and 1984)
Sam Perkins (1983 and 1984)
Kenny Smith (1987)
J.R. Reid (1988)
Jerry Stackhouse (1995)
Antawn Jamison (1998)
Joseph Forte (2001)
Tyler Hansbrough (2007, 2008 and 2009)
Brice Johnson (2016)
Justin Jackson (2017)

Inside Carolina Top Stories