Felton, McCants on Naismith Award List

North Carolina sophomores Raymond Felton and Rashad McCants are among the preseason candidates for the Naismith Award, which is presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to the National Player of the Year.

The Naismith Awards program, now in its 36th year, honors the outstanding college basketball players in the United States. The awards program was founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, an organization dedicated to recognizing the achievements of student-athletes in basketball.

The candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists, and basketball analysts. Members of the board were asked to name top male and female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Awards, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows:

2003-04 Pre-Season Naismith Candidates

Male Candidates Andre Barrett, Seton Hall Dee Brown, Illinois Josh Childress, Stanford Paul Davis, Michigan State Ike Diogu, Arizona State Chris Duhon, Duke Andre Emmett, Texas Tech Raymond Felton, UNC Channing Frye, Arizona Ben Gordon, U Conn David Harrison, Colorado Chris Hill, Michigan State Julius Hodge, NC State Luke Jackson, Oregon Keith Langford, Kansas Rashad McCants, UNC Marcus Moore, Washington State Brandon Mouton, Texas Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph,s Emeka Okafor, U Conn Rickey Paulding, Missouri J.J. Redick, Duke Darius Rice, Miami Romain Sato, Xavier Wayne Simien, Kansas Salim Stoudamire, Arizona Amit Tamir, California Chris Thomas, Notre Dame Hakim Warrick, Syracuse Bracey Wright, Indiana

Last year's Naismith Award recipient was T.J. Ford (University of Texas). Carolina's Michael Jordan (1984) and Antawn Jamison (1998) won the award in past years.

Inside Carolina Top Stories