Tar Heels Hand Out Awards At 2003 Banquet

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --_ University of North Carolina quarterback Darian Durant and free safety Dexter Reid were named the Tar Heels' offensive and defensive Most Valuable Players, respectively, on Sunday evening at UNC's annual football awards banquet at the Smith Center.

A native of Florence, S.C., Durant set several single-season records in 2003, including most pass completions (234), pass attempts (389), passing yards (2,551) and total offense (2,947). Durant also was Carolina's second-leading rusher, gaining 396 yards on 91 carries. He was responsible for 24 touchdowns this season, including 18 touchdown passes and six rushing scores. Durant, who will return in 2004, has set nearly every Carolina career passing and total offense mark in his first three years at UNC.

Reid earned his second consecutive team defensive MVP award after leading the Tar Heels in tackles for the second straight season. He had 132 tackles and finished among the top five in the ACC with 11.0 tackles per game. A native of Norfolk, Va., Reid earned second-team all-conference honors this season.

Offensive guard Jeb Terry was named the William Rand Kenan, Jr. Award for outstanding achievement in academics, athletics and leadership. A second-team All-ACC performer, Terry was one of three team captains this season and has been an academic All-ACC selection in each of the past two years.

Bill Arnold Memorial Award - Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Jeb Terry
William Fuller Award - Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Chase Page
Louis Graves Award - Outstanding Offensive Back: Ronnie McGill
Greg Poole Award - Outstanding Special Teams Player: Wallace Wright, Dan Orner
George Barclay Award - Outstanding Linebacker: Larry Edwards
Art Weiner Award - Outstanding Receiver: Jarwarski Pollock
Cary Boshamer Award - Outstanding Defensive Back: Dexter Reid
Andy Bershak - Outstanding Defensive End: Madison Hedgecock
John Lacey Rehabilitation Award: Devllen Bullard
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer Offense: Mike Mason
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer Defense: Isaiah Thomas, Mahlon Carey
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Freshman: Ronnie McGill
Jack Sapp Memorial Award - Best All-Around Senior: Jupiter Wilson
Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution Offense: Jacque Lewis
Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution Defense: Dexter Reid
Morris Mason Award - Outstanding Lifter: Jason Brown
Athletic Director's - Scholar-Athlete Award: Andre' Williams
William Rand Kenan, Jr. Award - Outstanding Achievement, Academics, Athletics, Leadership: Jeb Terry
Bob Osterneck Memorial Award - Most Team Spirit: Jeb Terry
E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Offense: Darian Durant
E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Defense: Dexter Reid
James Southerland Award (3) - Team Captain: Dexter Reid, Jeb Terry and DJ Walker

Inside Carolina Top Stories