Women get 4 seed in Midwest, will host subregion

UNC, the #4 seed in the Midwest, will take on #13 seed Harvard in opening round of the Women's NCAA Tournament.

The NCAA selection committee has placed UNC as a four seed in the Midwest bracket. Carolina will play #13 Harvard to open the NCAA tournament on Saturday, game time TBD. UNC also faced Harvard in an opening round game in 1996.

All one, two, three and four seeds host a subregional, so Carmichael will feature the Heels' game as well as #5 Minnesota vs #12 UNLV.

North Carolina defeated Harvard in the first round of the 1996 NCAA Tournament at Carmichael. The Heels' athleticism proved too much for Harvard which fell 78-53.

Vanderbilt is the top seed in the Midwest and Tennessee is the second seed.

Duke is the number one seed in the East. Two other ACC teams have been invited as the Mideast regional has #8 seed Virginia and #11 seed Clemson.

Midwest Regional
#1 Vanderbilt
#16 Oakland

#8 Wisconsin
#9 Arizona State

#5 Minnesota
#12 UNLV

#4 UNC
#13 Harvard

#6 Florida
#11 Brigham Young

#3 Iowa State
#14 Temple

#7 North Dame
#10 New Mexico

#2 Tennessee
#15 Georgia State

    Friday-Saturday, March 15-16 -- (32 first-round games at 16 different sites -- 16 games at each of the eight sites each day). ESPN will broadcast two games on Friday (on ESPN2) and four games on Saturday (two on ESPN and two on ESPN2).

    Sunday-Monday, March 17-18 -- (16 second-round games at 16 different sites -- one game at each of the eight sites each day). ESPN will broadcast 10 games (three on ESPN and seven on ESPN2) while NCAA Productions will produce the other six second-round games for regional distribution.

    Saturday, March 23 -- (eight regional semifinal games at four different sites -- two games at each of the four sites). Games start at approximately 11:30 a.m. ET and end at approximately 1:30 a.m. ET.

    Monday, March 25 -- (four regional finals -- one game at each of the four sites). The East Regional final is 7 p.m. ET on ESPN, the Mideast Regional final is 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2, the Midwest Regional final is 9 p.m. ET and the West Regional final is 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

    Friday, March 29 -- National semifinals -- two games -- tentative tipoff of semifinal No. 1 is 7:07 p.m. ET on ESPN. Time buffer between games is 30 minutes.

    Sunday, March 31 -- National Championship at San Antonio-- tip is approximately 8:37 p.m. ET on ESPN.

  • Quick look at Harvard
    Official athletic site
    Official women's hoops site
    Head Coach: Kathy Delaney-Smith
    22-5, 13-1 Ivy League
    Harvard women's hoops win 13 straight, Ivy title, and playoff berth

    Sat. Nov. 17 WAGNER W 77-54
    Tue. Nov. 20 BOSTON UNIVERSITY L 77-93
    Sat.-Sun. Nov. 24 at Fairfield Tournament
      vs. Fairfield, W 68-62
      vs. Villanova, L 51-59
    Fri. Nov. 30 at Commerce Bank-Wildcat Classic-Manhattan, KS
      vs. Idaho St., W 68-56
    Sat. Dec. 1 at Commerce Bank-Wildcat Classic Consolation/Championship
      vs. Kansas St. L 56-72
    Wed. Dec. 5 at Central Connecticut W 66-53
    Tue. Dec. 11 RHODE ISLAND W 86-82
    Sat. Dec. 15 at Northeastern W 66-62
    Thu. Dec. 20 at Syracuse L 66-78
    Sun. Dec. 30 BUCKNELL W 67-44
    Wed. Jan. 2 MANHATTAN W 75-69
    Sat. Jan. 5 DARTMOUTH W 88-77
    Fri. Jan. 11 at Princeton L 55-59
    Sat. Jan. 12 at Pennsylvania W 75-56
    Mon. Jan. 28 at Colgate W 80-67
    Fri. Feb. 1 at Brown W 63-51
    Sat. Feb. 2 at Yale W 61-57
    Fri. Feb. 8 COLUMBIA W 79-57
    Sat. Feb. 9 CORNELL W 64-58
    Fri. Feb. 15 PENNSYLVANIA W 59-55
    Sat. Feb. 16 PRINCETON W 78-70
    Fri. Feb. 22 at Cornell W 77-75 (2OT)
    Sat. Feb. 23 at Columbia W 61-49
    Fri. Mar. 1 YALE W 77-65
    Sat. Mar. 2 BROWN W 76-63
    Tue. Mar. 5 at Dartmouth W 58-42

  • Inside Carolina Top Stories