Felton named Naismith Prep Player of the Year

Tar Heel signee Raymond Felton, the 6-1 star senior point guard at Latta (SC) High, was chosen as the Naismith Prep Player of the Year yesterday

Felton beat out some stiff competition for the award, referred to as "the most prestigious individual honor in college and high school basketball."

The nine other finalists:
Carmelo Anthony, Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, VA)
Chris Bosh, Lincoln High School (Dallas, TX)
Paul Davis, Rochester High School (Rochester Hills, MI)
Jason Fraser, Amityville Mem High School (Amityville, NY)
LeBron James, St. Vincent-St. Mary (Akron, OH)
Shavlick Randolph, Broughton High School (Raleigh, NC)
Amare Stoudemire, Cypress Creek High School (Orlando, FL)
Shelden Williams, Midwest City High School (Midwest City, OK)
Bracey Wright, The Colony High School (The Colony, TX)

According to the Atlanta Tipoff Club, which selects the winner, "The Naismith Prep Player of the Year Award was established in 1987 to honor the nation's best male and female prep player. The high schools of the award winners receive a beautiful plaque depicting the peach basket first used by Dr. James A. Naismith."

While a UNC recruit has never won the award, past winners include Alonzo Mourning (1988), Jason Kidd (1992), Kobe Bryant (1996) and Dajuan Wagner (2001).

Felton will be presented his award at an April 5 ceremony in Atlanta, along with men's college winner Jason Williams.

Related Links: IC's Raymond Felton profile -- interviews, analysis, senior season game coverage, photos, video and more.

Inside Carolina Top Stories