'80 ACC Champs To Be Honored

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – North Carolina will honor the 1980 ACC champions at halftime of the Maryland football game this Saturday at Kenan Stadium. The Tar Heels are the last team from the state to claim an outright conference title.

Set to attend are about 50 players from that era, including Amos Lawrence, Kelvin Bryant, Steve Streater, Rod Elkins, Ron Wooten, among others.

"It's reaching out to our past," John Bunting said. "That hasn't always been done here. Nobody ever reached out to me until Mack Brown got here.

"We're doing that. I want these players back."

Noticeably absent from the list is Lawrence Taylor.

"I've tried to reach him but have been unsuccessful," Bunting said. "I've had some of our people tell me that we might be able to make contact with him sometime.

"That's one guy who had a lot of success in then NFL and has had a lot of attention focused on him for a variety of reasons. But what I'm excited about most, is that we do these kind of things at this great university to recognize past teams almost each and every year."

The '80 Tar Heels, led by third-year coach Dick Crum, capped an 11-1 season by defeating Texas in the Bluebonnett Bowl, 16-7. UNC's only loss that season was at Oklahoma. Streater, Taylor, Wooten and Rick Donnalley were team co-captains.

Inside Carolina Top Stories