Baker, Richardson Named Team MVPs

Chapel Hill, N.C. -- University of North Carolina quarterback Matt Baker and linebacker Tommy Richardson were named the Tar Heels' offensive and defensive Most Valuable Players, respectively, on Sunday evening at the 2005 football banquet at the Smith Center.

Baker, who sat patiently behind record-setting quarterback Darian Durant for three seasons, started all 11 games and completed 180 of 346 attempts for 2,345 yards and nine touchdowns. The 2,345 passing yards are the fourth-best single-season effort in school history. Baker led the Tar Heels with 2,311 total yards of offense, the fifth-best single-season mark at UNC. Extremely durable, Baker also ranks second in single-season attempts (346) and fourth in completions.

Although he started just one season, Baker finished his Carolina career ranked 11th in career attempts (224) and passing yards (2,968).

Richardson earned honorable-mention All-ACC honors this season after tying for the team lead with 91 tackles and ranking sixth in the ACC with 8.3 tackles per game. He began his Carolina career as a safety, but became a starter at linebacker in 2004, making 23 starts in the last two seasons.

Richardson also was voted as the player with the most team spirit and as the team's outstanding contributor on defense.

Richardson and Baker, along with Wallace Wright were also honored as team captains.

Doug Justice, a three-time Academic All-ACC selection, was honored as the team's best all-around senior. Justice, who's season was cut short due to a foot injury in the second game of the year against Wisconsin, was given the William Rand Kenan Jr. Award for oustanding achievement, academics, athletics and leadership.

Bill Arnold Memorial Award - Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Kyle Ralph
William Fuller Award - Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Chase Page
Louis Graves Award - Outstanding Offensive Back: Ronnie McGill
Greg Poole Award - Outstanding Special Teams Player: Wallace Wright
George Barclay Award - Outstanding Linebacker: Larry Edwards
Art Weiner Award - Outstanding Receiver: Jesse Holley
Cary Boshamer Award - Outstanding Defensive Back: Cedrick Holt
Andy Bershak - Outstanding Defensive End: Tommy Davis
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer Offense: Steven Bell
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Newcomer Defense: Kentwan Balmer, Trimane Goddard
Jeffrey Cowell Memorial Award - Outstanding Freshman: Brandon Tate
Jack Sapp Memorial Award - Best All-Around Senior: Doug Justice
Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution Offense: Rikki Cook, Brian Chacos
Charlie Justice Award - Outstanding Contribution Defense: Tommy Richardson
Moyer Gray Smith Award - Most Improved Player - Offense: Jon Hamlett
Moyer Gray Smith Award - Most Improved Player - Defense: Shelton Bynum
Morris Mason Award- Outstanding Lifter: Tommy Davis
John Lacey Rehabilitation Award: Skip Seagraves
James A. Gray and James A. Gray, Jr Football Manager's Award: Greg Parker
Athletic Director's - Scholar-Athlete Award: Justin Phillips
William Rand Kenan, Jr. Award - Outstanding Achievement, Academics, Athletics, Leadership: Doug Justice
Bob Osterneck Memorial Award - Most Team Spirit: Tommy Richardson
E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Offense: Matt Baker
E. Carrington Smith Award - Most Valuable Player Defense: Tommy Richardson
James Southerland Award (3) - Team Captains: Wallace Wright, Matt Baker, Tommy Richardson

Inside Carolina Top Stories