Roy Williams Named ACC Coach of the Year

Roy Williams was named ACC Coach of the Year, the Associated Press announced on Tuesday.

"I'm very flattered - the quality of coaches in this league is as high as you can get," Williams said. "At the same time I'll be sure to thank my players, they've made me look good for a long time."

Roy Williams is the fourth different UNC coach to win ACC honors. Dean Smith won a record eight times (1967, 1968, 1971, 1976, 1977, 1979, 1988 and 1993), Frank McGuire won in 1957 and Bill Guthridge won in 1998.

This season marks the eighth time in 18 years as a head coach that Williams has won Coach of the Year honors. He was Big Eight or Big 12 Coach of the Year seven times while leading the Kansas Jayhawks (1990, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2002 and 2003).

Coach, School (Votes)
Roy Williams, North Carolina (94)
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke (6)
Dave Leitao, Virginia (5)
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State (3)

Inside Carolina Top Stories