Heels to Celebrate 2006 Season Tonight

Chapel Hill, N.C. --- The University of North Carolina men's basketball team will honor its four departing seniors and celebrate the 2005-06 season with an end-of-year awards ceremony at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 11, at the Smith Center.

Admission is free and open to the general public. Concession stands will be open. Fans may enter the Smith Center at Entrance A beginning at 6:30 p.m.

The awards ceremony features the team's annual highlight video, speeches by Coach Roy Williams and the seniors and presentation of team awards that were voted on by the player and coaches, including Most Valuable Player and Most Inspirational Player.

The four seniors include David Noel of Durham, Will Robinson of Chapel Hill, Byron Sanders of Gulfport, Miss., and Thomas Wilkins of Cary.

The Tar Heels went 23-8 and finished second in the ACC with a 12-4 record that included a 7-1 mark on the road. Carolina was the No. 3 seed in the NCAA Tournament Washington, D.C., Regional.

Inside Carolina Top Stories