Hansbrough Named MVP at Team Banquet

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --- Consensus first-team All-America Tyler Hansbrough was voted Most Valuable Player of the 2007-08 University of North Carolina men's basketball team, it was announced at the annual end-of-year awards ceremony held Tuesday evening at the Smith Center.

The Poplar Bluff, Mo., native averaged 18.4 points and 7.9 rebounds in leading the Tar Heels to a 31-7 record, regular-season and Tournament ACC championships and NCAA Tournament East Regional final. He was a unanimous first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection for the second year in a row.

Upon accepting another award for leading the team in rebounds, Hansbrough announced he would return to Carolina in 2007-08 for his junior season. He is eighth all-time in scoring average at UNC with 18.6 points per game.

Sophomore swingman Marcus Ginyard was selected as the team's best defensive player, senior guard Dewey Burke was voted most inspirational player, freshman point guard Ty Lawson was named most improved player and freshman forward Brandan Wright was voted most outstanding freshman.

Lawson, who led the ACC in assist-error ration, also announced his plans to return to Carolina for next season. Lawson had 213 assists and was fourth on the team in scoring with 10.2 points per contest. He received the John Lotz Award for most assists on the team.

Seniors Reyshawn Terry and Wes Miller were elected permanent co-captains and Miller received the Burgess McSwain scholar-athlete award.

Statistical leaders included Wright (Mary Frances Andrews Award for field goal percentage), Danny Green (Martha Jordan Award for free throw percentage), Hansbrough (Benjamin and Oscar Vatz Award for rebounds) and Lawson (assists).

Inside Carolina Top Stories