Lenahan On Rimington Award Watch List

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. ---- University of North Carolina senior center Scott Lenahan has been named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List. The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the nation's top center. Former Tar Heel Jason Brown was a finalist for the award in 2004.

Lenahan started 11 of 12 games last season. The 6-1, 290-pound senior from Marietta, Ga., played on the first-team offense during the spring under new head coach Butch Davis. He will compete with Ben Lemming for the starting spot this fall.

Lenahan is one of 23 seniors on the 46-man preseason list.

The eight year old trophy is presented by Canon, Cornhusker Marriott, and Logitech. The award is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. West Virginia's Dan Mozes, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, Michigan's David Baas (2004 co-winner), LSU's Ben Wilkerson (2004 co-winner), Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, Miami's Brett Romberg, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, and Nebraska's Dominic Raiola are past recipients. Esiason created his foundation in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis. Esiason and Dave Rimington were teammates on the Cincinnati Bengals from 1984-87. Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All- America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 during which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's premiere college interior lineman.

The winner is selected by determining the consensus All-America Center pick from four existing All- America Teams: American Football Coaches Association; Walter Camp Foundation; Sporting News; Football Writers Association of America.

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All-America teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the Center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at an awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska in January of 2008.

2007 Rimington Trophy Watch List
Kenny Alfred Washington State Sophomore 6'2" 293 lbs.
Sete Aulai BYU Senior 6'0" 290 lbs.
Royce Blackledge Mississippi State Senior 6'4" 293 lbs.
Tim Bond Wyoming Junior 6'4" 296 lbs.
Jason Bosley Auburn Junior 6'2" 280 lbs.
Brett Byford Nebraska Senior 6'3" 300 lbs.
Antoine Caldwell Alabama Junior 6'3" 288 lbs.
Jim Cordle Ohio State Sophomore 6'5" 275 lbs.
Mike Dent West Virginia Junior 6'4" 285 lbs.
Kyle DeVan Oregon State Senior 6'2" 310 lbs.
Rafael Eubanks Iowa Sophomore 6'3" 288 lbs.
Robby Felix UTEP Junior 6'3" 295 lbs.
Dominic Green Nevada Junior 6'3" 295 lbs
Blaine Guenther Air Force Senior 6'2" 270 lbs.
Kyle Gunther Utah Senior 6'4" 304 lbs.
Antron Harper Navy Senior 5'11" 272 lbs.
Brett Helms LSU Junior 6'2" 283 lbs.
Chris Joseph UCLA Senior 6'5" 282 lbs.
Steve Justice Wake Forest Senior 6'4" 280 lbs.
Adam Korby Idaho Junior 6'2" 292 lbs.
Robbie Krutilla Western Michigan Senior 6'3" 308 lbs.
Doug Legursky Marshall Senior 6'3" 308 lbs.
Scott Lenahan North Carolina Senior 6'1" 290 lbs.
Kory Lichtensteiger Bowling Green Senior 6'3" 300 lbs.
Jonathan Luigs Arkansas Junior 6'4" 305 lbs.
Alex Mack California Junior 6'5" 295 lbs.
Tim Mattran Stanford Senior 6'5" 300 lbs.
Ryan McDonald Illinois Junior 6'5" 300 lbs.
Josh McNeil Tennessee Sophomore 6'4" 280 lbs.
Drew Miller Florida Senior 6'5" 297 lbs.
Trey Miranne Army Senior 6'0" 273 lbs.
Justin Paysinger San Jose State Junior 6'1" 295 lbs.
Mike Pollak Arizona State Senior 6'4" 300 lbs.
Daniel Sanders Colorado Junior 6'3" 305 lbs.
Blake Schlueter Texas Christian Junior 6'3" 272 lbs.
Kevin Sheridan Boston College Senior 6'3" 295 lbs.
A.Q. Shipley Penn State Junior 6'1" 293 lbs.
Adam Spieker Missouri Junior 6'4" 310 lbs.
John Sullivan Notre Dame Senior 6'4" 290 lbs.
Ryan Tonnemacher Utah State Junior 6'3" 272 lbs.
Lafu Tuioti-Mariner Hawaii Junior 6'0" 279 lbs.
Kevin Tuminello Georgia Tech Senior 6'4" 290 lbs.
Cody Wallace Texas A&M Senior 6'4" 296 lbs.
Ryan Wendell Fresno State Senior 6'2" 285 lbs.
Austin Wilkinson Rice Junior 6'2" 270 lbs.
Eric Wood Louisville Junior 6'4" 301 lbs.
Ben Wyss Indiana Senior 6'1" 280 lbs.

Inside Carolina Top Stories