Barth Named to Groza Award Watch List

University of North Carolina place-kicker Connor Barth has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2007 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award.

A senior from Wilmington, N.C., Barth was the only kicker in the country with a 1.000 field goal percentage in the NCAA rankings. He made all 10 attempts in 2006 and has a current streak of 11 in a row.

The Watch List is comprised of the top 30 preliminary candidates for the 16th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the FedEx Orange Bowl. The top three finalists will be honored during the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Banquet on Tuesday, December 4, 2007. The award will be presented Thursday, December 6, 2007 during the ESPN Home Depot College Football Award Show broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.

Five former winners or nominees, Mason Crosby, Martin Gramatica, Sebastian Janikowski, Nate Kaeding and Mike Nugent became successful NFL kickers.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2006 season and 2007 preseason expectations. However, all Division I-A kickers are eligible for consideration for the award.

A panel of over 300 experts vote on the award, including Division I-A head coaches, sports writers and sportscasters, conference representatives, professional kickers and all previous Groza Award finalists.

The 20 semi-finalists for the Lou Groza Award are announced on Tuesday, November 6, 2007 followed by the naming of the three finalists two weeks later on Tuesday, November 20, 2007.

The award, is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame kicker Lou "the Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an "All Pro" offensive lineman, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

1	Sergio	Aguayo	UNLV		Senior
2	Connor	Barth	North Carolina	Senior
3	Ben	Bell 	Houston		Junior
4	Arthur	Carmody	Louisville	Senior
5	Gary	Cismesia	Florida State	Senior
6	Treavor	Cook	Miami (Ohio)
7	Brandon	Coutu	Georgia	Senior
8	Drew	Edmiston	UL Lafayette	Junior
9	Garrett	Hartley	Oklahoma	Senior
10	Jeremy	Ito	Rutgers	Senior
11	Dan	Kelly	Hawaii	Junior
12	Conor	Lee	Pittsburgh	Junior
13	Taylor	Mehlhaff	Wisconsin	Senior
14	Chris	Nendick	Northern Illinois	Senior
15	Matt	Reagan	Memphis	Sophomore
16	Jason	Reda	Illinois	Senior
17	Jason	Ricks 	Oklahoma State	Junior
18	Louie	Sakoda	Utah	Junior
19	Tom	Schneider	California	Senior
20	Alexis	Serna	Oregon State	Senior
21	Patrick	Shadle	Syracuse	Junior
22	Jared	Strubeck	San Jose State	Junior
23	Ryan 	Succop	South Carolina	Junior
24	Sam	Swank	Wake Forest	Junior
25	Brett	Swenson	Michigan State	Sophomore
26	Jarod	Tracy 	Tulsa		Junior
27	Alex	Trlica	Texas Tech	Senior
28	Cole	Wilson	UL Monroe	Senior
29	Jeff	Wolfert	Missouri	Junior

Inside Carolina Top Stories