Shrine Bowl Rosters Announced

The North Carolina and South Carolina rosters for the 2007 Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas were announced Thursday afternoon. Among the 88 players named, eight hold UNC scholarship offers.

Athlete E.J. Abrams-Ward made North Carolina's roster as a linebacker, despite starring at quarterback for Thomasville (N.C.). Joining him are tight end Dwayne Allen of Fayetteville (N.C.) Sanford, offensive lineman Jonathan Cooper of Wilmington (N.C.) Hoggard and R.J. Mattes of Concord (N.C.) Robinson, and linebacker Kevin Reddick of New Bern (N.C.).

For the Sandlappers, offensive lineman Kenneth Page of Columbia (S.C.) Flora, defensive lineman Robert Quinn of North Charleston (S.C.) Fort Dorchester, and defensive back Charles Whitlock of Chester (S.C.) are on the roster.

The annual Shrine Bowl is in its 71st year and will be played at Gibbs Stadium on the campus of Wofford College on Saturday, December 15.

Inside Carolina Top Stories