UNC's Brown named preseason Naismith candidate

Brown makes first round of the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award list.

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - University of North Carolina senior Coretta Brown has been named a preseason candidate for the 2002-03 Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award, to be presented at the end of the season by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Brown, who earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference and All-ACC Tournament honors last season while leading the Tar Heels in scoring, is one of 30 players on the list.

Other ACC players among the candidates are Clemson's Chrissy Floyd, Duke's Alana Beard and Iciss Tillis, and Virginia's Brandi Teamer.

Brown averaged 17.1 points per game in her junior season, third in the ACC. She also ranked among the conference leaders in three-point percentage (first), three-pointers per game (first), assist/turnover ratio (fifth), field goal percentage (ninth) and assists (ninth). She was the only Carolina player to start all 35 games last season and has made 64 consecutive starts.

The Naismith candidates were selected by a vote of leading basketball coaches, journalists and analysts. Voters were asked to name top male and female players who are most likely to be in contention for the award.

"Both the men's and women's fields, from top to bottom, are extremely talented," said Jackie Bradford, president of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. "The race for the Naismith Award will once again be very competitive and exciting."

Last year's Naismith Award recipients were Jason Williams (Duke University) and Sue Bird (University of Connecticut).

2002-03 Female Candidates
Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt
Jacqueline Batteast, Notre Dame
Alana Beard, Duke
Kara Braxton, Georgia
Coretta Brown, North Carolina
Shameka Christon, Arkansas
Chrissy Floyd, Clemson
Catrina Frierson, Louisiana Tech
Vanessa Hayden, Florida
Caton Hill, Oklahoma
Ebony Hoffman, USC
Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
Gwen Jackson, Tennessee
Temeka Johnson, LSU
Kara Lawson, Tennessee
Kelly Mazzante, Penn State
Jocelyn Penn, South Carolina
Nicole Powell, Stanford
Alicia Ratay, Notre Dame
Aiysha Smith, LSU
Stacy Stephens, Texas
Brianne Stepherson, Boston College
Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
Brandi Teamer, Virginia
LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State
Iciss Tillis, Duke
Kendra Wecker, KSU
Lindsay Whalen, Minnesota
Lindsey Wilson, Iowa State
Shereka Wright, Purdue

Inside Carolina Top Stories