All-ACC Teams Announced

The All-ACC teams were announced Monday afternoon and a number of Tar Heels made the list. Tyler Hansbrough was a unanimous 1st Team selection, while Wayne Ellington earned 2nd Team honors. Marcus Ginyard was named to the All-Defensive Team.

Hansbrough joins NC State's David Thompson and Duke's Art Heyman as the only players in the 55-year history of the ACC to earn unanimous first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for three consecutive years.

Thompson was a unanimous first-team selection in 1973, 1974 and 1975; Heyman was a unanimous pick in 1961, 1962 and 1963.

"I have tremendous respect for what David Thompson and Art Heyman meant to the ACC and their respective programs and for Tyler to join them as the only three-time unanimous selections underscores what a uniquely special player he is," says Carolina head coach Roy Williams. "I am happy for Wayne and Marcus, because they have earned this recognition with their outstanding play, but I am disappointed for Ty Lawson. He is one of the top players in our league and his play has demonstrated that, but I do understand he missed half the conference schedule."

Hansbrough and Virginia guard Sean Singletary are the 24th and 25th players to earn first-team All-ACC honors three times. Hansbrough is the eighth Tar Heel to make the first team for the third straight year (no player has ever been selected first team four times), joining a list that includes Lennie Rosenbluth (1955-57), York Larese (1959-61), Billy Cunningham (1963-65), Charles Scott (1968-70), Phil Ford (1976-78), Sam Perkins (1982-84) and Antawn Jamison (1996-98).

2008 All-ACC Men's Basketball Teams
(90 Total Votes)

1st Team Vote – 3 points 
2nd Team Vote – 2 points 
3rd Team Vote – 1 point

First Team (1st Team Votes) 
Tyler Hansbrough, Jr., North Carolina* (90) 270
Tyrese Rice, Jr., Boston College (82) 261
Sean Singletary, Sr., Virginia (80) 257
DeMarcus Nelson, Sr., Duke (74) 250
Jack McClinton, Jr., Miami (37) 208
*unanimous 1st team

Second Team
Greivis Vasquez, So., Maryland 199
James Gist, Sr., Maryland 186
Wayne Ellington, So., North Carolina 158
A.D. Vassallo, Jr., Virginia Tech 120
K.C. Rivers, Jr., Clemson 115

Third Team
Kyle Singler, Fr., Duke 107
Cliff Hammonds, Sr., Clemson 101
Toney Douglas, Jr., Florida State 98
James Johnson, Fr., Wake Forest 69
Greg Paulus, Jr., Duke 64

Honorable Mention (20 or more points)
Ty Lawson, So., North Carolina 59
J.J. Hickson, Fr., NC State 43
Deron Washington, Sr., Virginia Tech 28
Anthony Morrow, Sr., Georgia Tech 25

ALL-FRESHMAN (89 votes)
Kyle Singler, Duke* 89
James Johnson, Wake Forest* 89
J.J. Hickson, NC State* 89
Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech 82
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest 79

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes)
Terrence Oglesby, Clemson 15

DeMarcus Nelson, Sr., Duke 68
Toney Douglas, Jr., Florida State 66
Tyrelle Blair, Sr., Boston College 56
Marcus Ginyard, Jr., North Carolina 46
James Gist, Sr., Maryland 40

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes)
Cliff Hammonds, Sr., Clemson 31
D'Andre Bell, Jr., Georgia Tech 27
Tyler Hansbrough, Jr., North Carolina 24
Jeff Allen, Fr., Virginia Tech 22
Deron Washington, Sr., Virginia Tech 16
James Mays, Sr., Clemson 15

Inside Carolina Top Stories