Heels Earn Awards at Banquet

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. --- ­ National Player of the Year Tyler Hansbrough earned Most Valuable Player honors, senior point guard Quentin Thomas was named most inspirational and most improved player and junior swingman Marcus Ginyard was named the best defender in the annual awards ceremony hosted by the University of North Carolina men's basketball team Thursday night at the Smith Center.

Hansbrough was also named the team's best rebounder and won the award for the highest field goal percentage. Thomas and Ginyard were named permanent captains in a vote of the teammates and coaches.

Other award recipients included Danny Green for the highest free throw percentage, Ty Lawson for the most assists and Bobby Frasor for the athletic director's scholar-athlete award.

The evening was capped by speeches from seniors Thomas and Surry Wood.

Inside Carolina Top Stories